Eric Comrie honored as Americans’ 2014 Playoff MVP


April 7, 2014, KENNEWICK, WA (ISN) – Tri-City Americans Governor/General Manager announced today that 18-year-old goaltender Eric Comrie has been named the team’s 2014 Playoff Most Valuable Player.

Comrie becomes the first goaltender to earn the award since Chet Pickard in 2008 and just the third goaltender in the franchise’s history to earn the nomination.

The 6’1, 170-pound netminder from Edmonton, Alberta appeared in all five of Tri-City’s playoff games this season, collecting a 3.46 goals against average and a 0.917 save percentage, including an incredible 52-save performance in Game 3 to pick-up his first post-season win, while leading Tri-City back to the post-season for an 11th consecutive season.  Also named the Americans’ regular season MVP, Comrie finished the regular season as the only WHL goaltender to finish in the top-2 in both overall Saves (1,849) and Save Percentage (0.925), while also setting the Americans’ single-season franchise saves record in the process.  The Winnipeg Jets’ 2013 2nd Round (59th overall) draft selection, Comrie is currently playing with their American Hockey League affiliate, the St. John’s IceCaps, as they compete for a spot in the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs.

“Eric was our leader throughout the season, and took the team on his shoulders in the post-season,” explained Tory.  “His commitment and his pursuit of excellence helped lead our team to a strong performance against Kelowna.”

The Americans are pleased to announce that 2014-2015 Season Tickets are now on sale!  Enjoy the best seats – and the best rates – in the Toyota Center!  And, ask about our brand new Complete Season Plan, featuring tickets to every home game, from pre-season to post-season, all for one low monthly payment!  Call (509) 736-0606, visit or drop by the Americans offices’ at the bottom level of the Toyota Center for more information.

All-Time Americans Playoff MVP Winners:

2014: Eric Comrie

2013: Drydn Dow

2012: Brendan Shinnimin

2011: Brendan Shinnimin

2010: Kruise Reddick

2009: Mitch Fadden

2008: Chet Pickard

2007: Colton Yellow Horn

2006: Logan Stephenson

2005: Ian McDonald, Andy Thompson

2004: Shawn Belle, Clayton Stoner

2003: Did not make the playoffs

2002: Tyler Weiman

2001: Did not make the playoffs

2000: Darrell Hay

1999: Scott Gomez

1998: Did not make the playoffs

1997: Did not make the playoffs

1996: Daymond Langkow

1995: Daymond Langkow, Terry Ryan

1994: Daymond Langkow

1993: Todd Klassen

1992: Bill Lindsay

1991: Terry Degner

1990: Stu Barnes

1989: Stu Barnes

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!