vira logo

April 7, 2014, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The seventh race in the Frontrunners Island Race Series – Merville 15K – took place yesterday under perfect conditions. The race was hosted by the River Runners and had 310 finishers.

Series leaders Derek Vinge and Claire Morgan repeated their wins from the Comox Valley RV Half Marathon two weeks ago. Vinge, from the Comox Valley Road Runners, won in 50:09. Nick Walker (Frontrunners Athletic Club) came second in 50:39 and third was Shane Ruljancich (Prairie Inn Harriers) in 52:02. Hugh Trenchard was the top Master finishing in 53:37.

merville start
Photo credit – Teresa Maher Photography

Morgan (Prairie Inn Harriers) was the clear victor in the women’s race – finishing in 56:43. Second was Jill Ramstead (CeeVacs Running Club) in 59:57 and third was Cheryl Davies (Bastion Running Club) in 1:02:09. Davies was the top female Master.

“Numbers were down a little from last year but the runners enjoyed fabulous racing conditions,” said Race Director, Linda Nagle “The duel between Derek Vinge and Nick Walker was won by Vinge beating Walker by 30 seconds and improving on Walker’s 2013 time by three seconds.”

There was one new course record – Roslyn Smith in the W65-69. She finished in 1:09:33 beating the old record by over five minutes.

Prairie Inn Harriers lead the Island Series club standings with 3047 points, with Comox Valley Road Runners second (2415) and Bastion Running Club third (1920).

Eight races make up the Frontrunners Island Race Series. The final race – Sooke River 10K – takes place next Sunday, April 13. The race will be followed by the series awards. All races are sanctioned by BC Athletics. Registration is now online at Historical results from races dating back to 1980 from previous race series can be seen on