Camosun Chargers 20th Annual Awards Ceremony

Camosun Chargers 1

April 10, 2014, Victoria (ISN) – Student-athletes, coaches and supporters of the Camosun College Chargers gathered to recognize the achievements of the College’s student-athletes at Camosun’s 20th Annual Athletic Awards Ceremony, Thursday, April 10th at the Harbour Towers Hotel.

Fourth-year wing Elyse Matthews from the Chargers women’s basketball squad, and Lucas Dellabough, second-year rightside from the men’s volleyball team took the spotlight, co-winning the prestigious President’s Cup award for outstanding achievements in academics and athletics.

Elyse earned a perfect 9.0 GPA this past fall in the Environmental Technology program at Camosun. Meanwhile, Lucas finished with a remarkable cumulative GPA of 8.765 over his last two years in the Camosun College Associate Science program, including a perfect 9.0 this past semester.

“I am thrilled by the achievements of our Charger student-athletes,” says Graham Mathews, Camosun Chargers Athletic Director. “This is the second year in a row that Elyse has won this award, we couldn’t be more proud of her and Lucas’ accomplishments as student-athlete leaders.”

Third-year men’s volleyball middle Alex Sadowski was the recipient of the Linda Henderson Award for Excellence for demonstrating commitment, strength of character and a high level of proficiency in the sport of volleyball. Alex demonstrated consistent leadership with the Chargers this year. As a player, he commanded the respect of his teammates and coaches, as well as the attention of the other teams in the PACWEST.

The Derek Twomey Scholarship for Sport was awarded to first-year Chargers setter Vitor Macedo (Brazil) who was selected by Derek’s former team mates and coaches as the second-time winner of the award for his fighting spirit, commitment to hard work and passion for the game.

Sponsored by Accent Inns, the PACWEST Academic Excellence Awards were presented to ten Camosun student-athletes for achieving an honours standing over a minimum period of one full academic year. Recipients from the women’s basketball team included Brianne Larson, (Arts & Science), Elyse Matthews (Environmental Technology), Melissa Van Dyk (Bachelor of Business Administration), and Ella Goldschmid (Exercise and Wellness). From the women’s volleyball team, Kelsey Clarke (Associate Arts), Morgan Marshall (Sport Performance), and Erika Sheen (Human Resources Management). From men’s golf, Jarred Callbeck (Business Administration). And men’s volleyball recipients included Lucas Dellabough (Associated Sciences), and Alex Sadowski (Electrical Engineering).

In addition, a number of student-athletes were recognized for their outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments at the Provincial and National levels. Thirteen Chargers were the recipients of the PACWEST and CCAA awards which were sponsored by Wilson’s Transportation:


Jarred Callbeck          Men’s Golf             SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian

                                                            CCAA All Canadian

                                                             PACWEST 1st Team All-Star

Alex Sadowski           Men’s Volleyball      SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian

                                                             PACWEST 1st Team All-Star

                                                             PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Oct 22-28, 2013)

                                                             PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Feb 4 – 10, 2014)

Vitor Macedo             Men’s Volleyball       PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star

                                                              PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Feb 11 – 17, 2014)

Alex Wolf                  Men’s Volleyball        PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star

                                                              PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan. 21 –27, 2014)

Cameron Fennema     Men’s Volleyball       PACWEST All-Rookie Team

Trevor Scheurmann    Men’s Basketball       PACWEST First Team All-Star

Aija Salvador             Women’s Basketball   CCAA All Canadian

                                                               PACWEST 1st Team All-Star

                                                               PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov. 12 –18, 2013)

                                                                PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Feb. 18 –24, 2014)

Ella Goldschmid         Women’s Basketball    PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star

Emma Cunningha      Women’s Basketball    PACWEST All-Rookie Team

Elyse Matthews          Women’s Basketball    SIRC-CCAA Academic All-Canadian

                                                                 PACWEST 2nd Team All-Star

Hilary Graham          Women’s Volleyball       PACWEST 1st Team All-Star

                                                                      PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Nov 19 –25, 2013)

Kaelyn Parmelee       Women’s Volleyball      PACWEST All-Rookie Team

Mariah Holmstrom     Women’s Volleyball       PACWEST Athlete of the Week (Jan.7-13, 2014)

Three student-athletes were recognized as Team Rookie. Those included Emma Cunningham from Spectrum, Victoria (women’s basketball), Pacific Christian grad Cameron Fennema (men’s volleyball), and Kalamalka, Vernon grad Kaelyn Parmelee (women’s volleyball).

Five additional student-athletes were acknowledged for their Team Leadership throughout the year. Among those were Jeremy Finn (men’s volleyball), Mariah Holmstrom (women’s volleyball), Elyse Matthews (women’s basketball), Lachlan Ross (men’s basketball) and Grant Maskiewich (men’s golf).

A final group of Camosun athletes received the Team MVP award, including Jarred Callbeck (men’s golf), Trevor Scheurmann (men’s basketball), Hilary Graham (women’s volleyball), Aija Salvador (women’s basketball) and Alex Sadowski (men’s volleyball).

Student-athletes graduating from the Chargers athletics program were also recognized for their valued contributions, included were Trevor Scheurmann from the men’s basketball program; student-athletes Brianne Larson, Karli Keown and Elyse Matthews (women’s basketball); Olivia Redden, Kelsey Clarke, Kelsey Johnson (women’s volleyball) and Jarred Callbeck men’s golf.

“Our student-athletes and coaches worked extremely hard this year and I’m very proud of them,” said Camosun Recreation and Athletics Coordinator Graham Matthews. “We can’t wait for what should be an exciting 2014-15!”




Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!