UBC softball seeded sixth for A.I.I. playoffs

UBC softball 2014 celebration

VICTORIA, Texas – The field for the 2014 Association of Independent Institutions Conference Softball Championships was finalized Monday.

The six-team field will include second-ranked LSU-Alexandria (27-3), fifth-ranked California State-San Marcos (32-5-2), 19th-ranked University of Houston-Victoria (26-11), Georgia Gwinnett College (24-8-1), Lindenwood-Belleville (22-17-1), and the University of British Columbia (14-13).

The six-team, double-elimination tournament is scheduled for May 1-4 and will be hosted by Gerogia Gwinnett College in Lawrenceville, Ga.

Led by head coach Gord Collings, UBC will open the championship against Houston-Victoria at 8 a.m. Pacific on May 1.

The winner and runner-up of the tournament will earn an automatic berth to the NAIA Nationals Opening Round Tournament on May 12-14 at sites still to be determined. The NAIA National Championships will be held May 23-29 at the South Commons Softball Complex in Columbus, Ga.

LSU-A will be the tournament’s No. 1 seed, followed by CSUSM at No. 2, UHV at No. 3, GGC at No. 4, Lindenwood at No. 5 and UBC at No. 6

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!