Bergeron, Toews, Kopitar are Selke finalists


April 24, 2014, NEW YORK, N.Y. (ISN) – Patrice Bergeron, Jonathan Toews and Anze Kopitar are the finalists for the NHL’s Selke Trophy, awarded to the best defensive forward.


Toews, captain of the Chicago Blackhawks, edged out Bergeron of the Boston Bruins for the honour last year.

Kopitar is the first player in Los Angeles Kings franchise history to be a Selke finalist.

Bergeron, from Quebec City, led the league in faceoff wins this season.

Toews, a Winnipeg native, is a finalist for the third time in four years.


Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!