winterhawks sized1

April 26 2014 ISN – The Winterhawks have qualified for their fourth consecutive Western Hockey League
championship series, and for the third straight season they’ll meet the Edmonton Oil
Kings in a series that begins next Saturday.

The Oil Kings knocked off the Medicine Hat Tigers tonight in Game 5 of the Eastern
Conference Championship setting up the third straight meeting in the Final between
the Hawks and Oil Kings.

Tickets for Games 1 and 2 are on sale now at, and beginning Monday
morning at 9 a.m. will be available in person at the Rose Quarter box office and the
Winterhawks’ ticket office inside Veterans Memorial Coliseum. The schedule for the
series is as follows (all times Pacific):

Game 1: Saturday, May 3 at Portland (Moda Center), 7 p.m.
Game 2: Sunday, May 4 at Portland (Moda Center), 5 p.m.
Game 3: Tuesday, May 6 at Edmonton, 6 p.m.
Game 4: Wednesday, May 7 at Edmonton, 6 p.m.
Game 5*: Friday, May 9 at Portland (Venue TBA), 7 p.m.
Game 6*: Sunday, May 11 at Edmonton, 3 p.m.
Game 7*: Monday, May 12 at Portland (Venue TBA), 7 p.m.
*If necessary

Last season, the Winterhawks defeated the Oil Kings in six games to capture their
third Ed Chynoweth Cup. In 2012, Edmonton defeated Portland in seven games to claim
the championship.

Winterhawks players are also encouraging fans to participate in a whiteout at all
home games during the playoffs, and are asking fans to wear white to the games as a
show of support to the team. Fans can use the hashtag #WinInWhite on social media to
encourage others to join in the whiteout.