CHL announces 2013-14 award nominees


May 9, 2014, Toronto, ON (ISN) – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the nominees for the 10 major awards that will be presented at the annual CHL Awards Ceremony which takes place on Saturday May 24 as part of the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup festivities in London.

Jack Link’s Top Prospect of the Year:

Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads)

Sam Bennett (Kingston Frontenacs)

Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice)

Notable winners: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Red Deer Rebels 2011), Steven Stamkos (Sarnia Sting 2008), Vincent Lecavalier (Rimous Oceanic 1998)

Chrysler Dodge Top Scorer:

Anthony Mantha (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Connor Brown (Erie Otters)

Mitch Holmberg (Spokane Chiefs)

Notable winners: Brendan Leipsic and Nicolas Petan (Portland Winterhawks 2013), Patrick Kane (London Knights 2007), Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2004 and 2005)

SUBWAY Scholastic Player of the Year:

Jeremy Gregoire (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

Connor McDavid (Erie Otters)

Nelson Nogier (Saskatoon Blades)

Notable winners: Jonathan Brunelle (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2012), Dougie Hamilton (Niagara IceDogs 2011), Scott Niedermayer (Kamloops Blazers 1991)

Cooper Tires Humanitarian of the Year:

Charles-David Beaudoin (Drummondville Voltigeurs)

Scott Simmonds (Belleville Bulls)

Sam Fioretti (Moose Jaw Warriors)

Notable winners: Ben Fanelli (Kitchener Rangers 2013), Colin Fraser (Red Deer Rebels 2005), Simon Gamache (Val-d’Or Foreurs 2000) Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year:

Frederik Gaudreau (Drummondville Voltigeurs)

Connor McDavid (Erie Otters)

Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice)

Notable winners: Mark Stone (Brandon Wheat Kings 2012), David Desharnais (Chicoutimi Sagueneens 2007), Jeff Carter (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2005)

Old Dutch Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year:

Eric Veilleux (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

D.J Smith (Oshawa Generals)

Dave Lowry (Victoria Royals)

Notable winners: Gerard Gallant (Saint John Sea Dogs 2010 and 2011), Peter DeBoer (Plymouth Whalers 2000), Ken Hitchcock (Kamloops Blazers 1990)

BMO Rookie of the Year:

Nikolaj Ehlers (Halifax Mooseheads)

Travis Konecny (Ottawa 67’s)

Nick Merkley (Kelowna Rockets)

Notable winners: Taylor Hall (Windsor Spitfires 2008), Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2004), Scottie Upshall (Kamloops Blazers 2001)

Vaughn Goaltender of the Year:

Zachary Fucale (Halifax Mooseheads)

Alex Nedeljkovic (Plymouth Whalers)

Jordon Cooke (Kelowna Rockets)

Notable winners: Jake Allen (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2010), Carey Price (Tri-City Americans 2007), Ray Emery (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2002)

Arctic Spas Defenceman of the Year:

Guillaume Gelinas (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Aaron Ekblad (Barrie Colts)

Derrick Pouliot (Portland Winterhawks)

Notable winners: Keith Yandle (Moncton Wildcats 2006), Dan Hamhuis (Prince George Cougars 2002), Chris Pronger (Peterborough Petes 1993)

Sportsnet Player of the Year:

Anthony Mantha (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Connor Brown (Erie Otters)

Sam Reinhart (Kootenay Ice)

Notable winners: John Tavares (Oshawa Generals 2007), Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2004 and 2005), Joe Sakic (Swift Current Broncos 1988)

The CHL Awards ceremony will be held at The Grand Theatre in downtown London and features an autograph session with the nominees beginning at 1:00 pm followed by a formal awards presentation at 2:30 pm.

Tickets are on sale now ($20 Student/Child and $35 General Public) available through Budweiser Gardens Online Ticketing or by calling 519-681-0800 ext 1 or visit the OMAC Mortgages London Knights Box Office in person inside Jack Astor’s Gate #4 of Budweiser Gardens (located at the corner of Dundas Street and Ridout Street).