For sport, for women, for Canada: those are the three pillars that serve as the framework for the National Organising Committee’s legacy objectives for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™. Those Legacy Objectives were presented Saturday 10 May at the Canadian Soccer Association’s 2014 Annual General Meeting in Vancouver, BC.

“The approach to implementing our Legacy Plan will be based on a culture for shared ownership, engagement and collaboration with our stakeholders working toward mutual goals for sport, society and our natural environment,” said Peter Montopoli, Chief Executive Officer for the National Organising Committee.

“Our six legacy objectives focus on priorities expressed by our key stakeholders, funders, as well as input from the sustainable sport event sector on best practices and new event management standards.”

The six Legacy Objectives are:
1. Sport Development and Excellence
2. Engagement and Education
3. Economic Development
4. Environmental Stewardship
5. Social Inclusion, Culture and Community Benefits
6. Good Governance

Through both the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 and FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™, our country is poised to advance its reputation as a top host for international sporting events and a leader in women’s soccer in every aspect of the beautiful game.

The FIFA Women`s World Cup Canada 2015™ will leave a fitting legacy for Canada and young girls and women that reaches far beyond competition. Together with FIFA, our Federal, Provincial and Municipal Governments, FIFA Partners. National Supporters, Official Host Cities, and sport and community organisations – Canada is focused on sustainable practices and generating tangible benefits that our nation will enjoy for years to come.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™ marks the first major sporting event hosted in Canada from coast to coast across the country, with matches to be played in: Vancouver, British Columbia; Edmonton, Alberta; Winnipeg, Manitoba; Ottawa, Ontario; Montréal, Québec; and Moncton, New Brunswick. This world class competition will feature the best professional and elite women players from 24 nations.

This summer, the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 in: Edmonton, Alberta; Toronto, Ontario; Montréal, Québec; and Moncton, New Brunswick. The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 will feature national teams from around the world.