May 11, 2014, Victoria (ISN) – Signology Signs presented Round #2 of the LORDCO Demo Series at Western Speedway Saturday that included the Demo Cars, Demo Trucks, Figure 8s, and the Bomber Series.

Billy Stidston – Demo Truck Feature winner. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

A full race card of Trophy Dashes, Heat races, and Feature events plus a Total Destruction entertained the good crowd and they would not be disappointed as the hitting was hard and often. Dash wins went to Trevor Cannon in the Figure 8 Series, Doug Richens in the Demo Car Class, Stuart Campbell in the Bomber Series, and Aason Baker in the Truck Series. Heat races went to “Smokin” Joe Liberatore in the Demo Cars, Billy Stidston in the Demo Trucks, Ashton Campbell and Kail Beck in the Figure 8 Series, and Sam Lagan and Tony Kambo in the Bomber Series.

Alex Carey – Figure 8 Feature winner. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)


Cody Sutherland and Kristy Rowlandson led twelve cars to the green flag for twenty laps of racing in the Figure 8 Feature event with Kail Beck grabbing the lead on lap two with Rowlandson holding on for second until lap seven when these two traded positions for three laps.

Figure 8 action. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Beck went back into the lead on lap ten followed now by Alex Carey after the yellow flag came out to clear many of the stalled or broken machines left drivers in a vulnerable position. Beck carried the lead for several laps until he too suffered a broken machine as a result of hard hits locking his rear wheels on lap twenty-three. Alex Carey went into the lead and when the dust settled he took the chequered flag followed by Ashton Campbell and Cody Sutherland.

Jarrod Heap – Bomber Feature winner. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Stuart Campbell and Ron Benham shared the front row as fifteen cars lined up for thirty-five laps of racing in the Bomber Series Feature event.

Joe Liberatore leads Doug Richens and Jim Young. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Megan McCullam grabbed the lead on the first lap followed quickly by Sean Whitley both with new cars this season. On lap six McCullam’s car dropped way off the pace surrendering the lead to Jarrod Heap with Whitley and Sam Lagan in second and third respectively. Heap worked himself to a pretty good lead until lap fourteen when the yellow flag came out as Cody Sadler spun around on turn one.

Total Destruction action. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Lagan had to go to the pits with a rear flat tire placing him toward the back for the restart. Rich Gerhardt took the outside row with Heap going inside for the return to green flag racing but that only lasted about a lap as Aaron Cameron broke a rear axle on turn four bringing out a quick yellow.

More Figure 8s, (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Once again on the restart, Heap went back to the lead followed by Phil Lagan driving Giles Cyr’s #98 car and Jarrod Soberg. On lap twenty-six, Brian Wakelin moved up to the third position trying to reel in the leaders. Heap cruised to the win followed by Lagan, Wakelin, Soberg, and Sadler rounding out the top five positions. Heap stated he is looking forward to the Sprint Car race next week end as he is set to debut a new car in this non wing Sprint Car Series.

Joe Liberatore – Demo Car Feature winner. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Seven Trucks qualified for racing and lined up to run a Feature event. On the very first curve, Aason Baker went behind the wall on turn one bringing out the safety crew to make sure he was OK. He came out on his own but went to the pits. On the subsequent restart, and again on turn one, several trucks came together with Dave Cates slamming hard into the turn one wall and Jake Matthews getting crushed side on into the wall as well.

Aaron Cameron #52 and Sam Lagan run side by side. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

This brought out a red flag as Cates was in some difficulty and soreness and taken to the hospital for observation. His truck was shorten by about three feet in the head on tangle with the wall. As a result, the Demo Cars joined the remaining trucks for a combined Feature event.

Demo Trucks in action. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

Jeff Hamstra led the charge early in the trucks and Joe Liberatore took charge in the Demo Cars. On lap eight, Billy Stidston took over the lead in the truck class while Liberatore got taken out by Cody Young on lap six but returned the favor one lap later regaining the lead. When the dust settled Stidston completed the win, while Liberatore claimed the win in the Demo Car Class. Bill Gallacher and Hamstra finished two and three with the trucks and Cody Young held on for second in the Demo Car Class.

DSC04302 3
Kyle Rizok – Total Destruction winner. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

For the finale, ten cars lined up for the Total Destruction event that always has some hard hitting action. After one of the cars caught fire the event was halted to rescue the driver while other drivers were allowed to leave their disabled vehicles and the fight was on again.

Brian Wakelin #39 on the move. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)


When the smoke cleared Kyle Rizok was the last man standing and last car moving and was declared the winner. Many thanks to the other competitors that included Dustin Dash, Rhett Szevics, Robin Trotter, Bryce Muir, Mike Noyce, Brandon Young, Shawn Young, Trevor Cannon, and BJ Veld for making this a successful event. 

Sam Lagan #56 runs side by side. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

All winners were greeted by Winter and first time Trophy Girl Sara and received trophies and caps, supplied by Lordco Auto parts and the Swag Shop again presenting Western Speedway caps to all Feature event winners.

Demo Cars in action. (Photo: Ken Keating ISN)

The next event is scheduled for May 17th for the Hall Of Fame Night with the OTRA Series running for the Jim & Lorraine Memorial Trophy, Wilson’s Transportation Island Stock Car Series, the SDL Bins Mini Stocks, Hornets, a Super Moto Exhibition, with the Non Winged WilRoc Sprints added to this event.