May 20, 2014 (HALIFAX, N.S.) – Atlantic University Sport held its 2014 annual
general meeting earlier this month in Halifax, N.S. The AUS office hosted the annual
meetings, attended by representatives of all 11 member institutions, at the Four
Points by Sheraton Halifax.


Phil Currie, executive director of Atlantic University Sport, chaired the meetings,
which were preceded by a one-day marketing symposium. Accomplished scholar and
active business professional Norm O’Reilly opened the symposium, attended by
marketing representatives from each member institution, with a presentation on
sponsorship and sport marketing.

Several longtime contributors to university sport were honoured at a recognition
dinner following the symposium. UNB sports information director Maureen Sparks will
be retiring at the end of this AUS season after 33 years in university sport.
Retiring athletic directors Karen Moore (Dalhousie) and Dr. David Murphy (Saint
Mary’s) were also recognized by the membership and thanked for their tireless

This year’s annual general meeting followed. Each AGM includes receiving reports
from the various AUS committees, discussion on any motions coming forward for the
2014 CIS AGM scheduled for June 9-13 in Vancouver, B.C., finalizing the 2014-15 AUS
playing schedules and reviewing sport-specific motions that come from the coaches’
associations of the winter sports.
“Our Atlantic University Sport annual general meetings are always a productive time
for our conference,” said AUS executive director Phil Currie.

Now two years into our strategic plan, our office and our 11 member institutions are more determined
than ever to achieve the goals we have outlined and succeed in creating Canada’s ultimate student-athlete experience in Atlantic Canada. We had some very positive dialogue at this year’s meetings and I am confident that we are continuing to make strides and positive changes which will benefit our student-athletes, our fans and all of our stakeholders.”

Kevin Dickie, director of athletics for Acadia University, officially began his term
as president of the AUS management council, while Marc Boudreau, director of
athletics at the Université de Moncton, wrapped up a three-year term as president
and remains on the executive committee as past president. After stepping down last
year following a typical two-year term as AUS president, Boudreau resumed the
position for an additional year following the departure Memorial University athletic
director Michelle Healey from university athletics and the AUS presidency. ­­­

In addition to the above, highlights of other items discussed at these meetings are
as follows:
Men’s hockey playoff format set
Beginning in the 2014-15 season, the AUS men’s hockey championship format will
consist of a best-of-three final playoff series during the years when the Atlantic
conference has two guaranteed berths in the CIS championship.

During the years when the AUS is guaranteed two or more berths at the national
championship, the AUS championship quarterfinal series will be a best-of-three,
semifinals a best-of-five, and finals a best-of-three.
The Atlantic conference is guaranteed three berths in the next two CIS championships
being hosted in Halifax. As a result, it is possible a best-of-three consolation
final series will be required to determine the third AUS team.
If StFX (in 2015) or Saint Mary’s (in 2016) reach the AUS final series, a
consolation series will take place concurrent to the final series.

Women’s basketball award to be renamed
AUS women’s basketball coach of the year award will be renamed in recognition of
retired Dalhousie women’s basketball coach Dr. Carolyn Savoy.
Following seven years as head coach of the StFX X-Women, Dr. Savoy began a 32-year
career as the Dalhousie Tigers women’s basketball coach in 1977. She was named AUS
coach of the year four times (1982, 2001, 2005 and 2007) and under her leadership,
Dalhousie teams won nine regular season AUS titles and five AUS championship

In 2011, she was inducted into the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame. The decision to
rename the AUS award was brought forward by the conference’s women’s basketball
coaches and passed unanimously.
2015 Winter AUS championship hosts announced:
The scheduling for the 2014-15 season was concluded and the following dates and
locations have been confirmed for the winter AUS championship events:
– Dalhousie University will host the 2015 Subway AUS swimming championship, February
6-8, 2015.
– University of New Brunswick will host the 2015 Subway AUS women’s volleyball
championship, February 13-15, 2015.
– Université de Moncton will host the 2015 Subway AUS track & field championship,
February 21-22, 2015.
– Atlantic University Sport will host the 2015 Subway AUS men’s and women’s
basketball championships, February 26-March 1, 2015.