Hockey Canada Logo

May 20 2014 ISN – MINSK, Belarus – After finishing atop its preliminary round group, Canada’s National
Men’s Team will play Finland in the quarter-finals at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World
Championship on Thursday, May 22.

The winner of the Canada/Finland quarter-final will face the winner of the USA/Czech
Republic quarter-final in the semifinals on Saturday, May 24 in Minsk.

Canada had a record of five wins, one overtime win and one shootout loss in the
preliminary round, good for 18 points and first place in Group A.

2014 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP QUARTER-FINAL SCHEDULE

9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT United States (B2) vs. Czech Republic (A3)
10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT Russia (B1) vs. France (A4)
1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT Canada (A1) vs. Finland (B4)
2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT Sweden (A2) vs. Belarus (B3)

CLICK HERE FOR THE 2014 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP
SCHEDULE

All of Canada’s games at the 2014 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship are broadcast
live by TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local
listings for the broadcast time in your area.

Canada’s roster includes 23 players: three goaltenders, seven defencemen and 13
forwards.

Canada’s roster includes 18 players with previous international experience, with six
players (Burrows, Chimera, Coburn, Myers, Read, Reimer) who represented Canada at
previous world championships (Turris skated as an alternate player with Canada in
2008). Chimera won gold at the 2007 IIHF World Championship in Moscow, Russia.

Kevin Bieksa, Troy Brouwer, Jason Garrison, Ben Scrivens and Joel Ward are
representing Canada on the international stage for the first time.

Canada’s management group is comprised of general manager Rob Blake (Simcoe,
Ont./Los Angeles, NHL), Brad Pascall (Coquitlam, B.C./ Hockey Canada), Ron Hextall
(Brandon, Man./ Philadelphia, NHL) and Brad Treliving (Penticton, B.C./Calgary,
NHL).

Canada’s coaching staff is led by head coach Dave Tippett (Moosomin, Sask./ Phoenix,
NHL), with Peter DeBoer (Dunnville, Ont./ New Jersey, NHL) and Paul Maurice (Sault
Ste. Marie, Ont./ Winnipeg, NHL) serving as assistant coaches.

LEAVE A REPLY