May 22 2014 ISN – Vikes captain Brynn Tomie and teammate Emily Nicol carded their best round of the week as the University of Victoria Vikes women’s golf team qualified for the fourth and final round at the 2014 NAIA Women’s Golf Championships, being held in Lincoln, Neb. As a team, the Vikes posted a third round score of 322, their lowest round of the week to finish in a tie for 16th place heading into the final day of competition.

Tomie finished her day with a 3-over, 75 score while Nicol posted an 8-over, 80 third round. Vikes Shannon Raina, Cari Chow and Laura Ferreira finished with rounds of 83, 84 and 87, respectively. After a shaky start to the week, the women rebounded with continually improving rounds, with Thursday’s third round cutting 15 strokes off their initial 18 holes of play. Following Thursday’s action, the field was cut to the top 17 teams, and top 40 individuals.

Paired together in the day’s final grouping off of hole No. 1, top-ranked SCAD Savannah (Ga.) and defending national champion Oklahoma City went to battle in third round action at the 2014 NAIA Women’s Golf National Championships. For the second-straight year the event is being held at Wilderness Ridge Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb.

Cumberlands (Ky.) (924, 310-308-306), Bellevue (Neb.) (927, 314-314-299) and William Woods (Mo.) (935, 307-317-311) round out the top five after three rounds of play. The Bruins of Bellevue shot a national championships-low 299 to jump from sixth to fourth in the team standings.

Senior Elia Folch of Oklahoma City (220, 72-75-73)—the 2013 national runner-up—and junior Alazne Urizar of SCAD Savannah (220, 76-71,73)—the NAIA’s No. 1 golfer based on scoring average (73.64)—shot identical rounds of one-over par 73 to take the 54-hole individual lead at four-over par. Senior Sunny Powers of Concordia (Ore.), sophomore Kyla Clancy of Rocky Mountain (Mont.), freshman Cassidy Scantland of Campbellsville (Ky.) and freshman Lauren Kruszewski of Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) made the cut as Top 40 individuals.

The final round kicks off at 7:30 a.m. CDT Friday with the top nine teams teeing off from hole No. 1 and teams No. 10-17 and individuals beginning play at hole No. 10.