Jason and Kevin

May 26th, 2014, Vancouver, B.C. (VIGolf.ca) – The Royal Colwood Golf Club team of Head Professional Jason Giesbrecht and Club Champion Kevin Carrigan shot a -9 total of 63 to win the TaylorMade & adidas Golf Tournament of Champions presented by Richport Ford on Monday at the University Golf Club. Giesbrecht and Carrigan fired a blistering -6 front 9 score of 30, which included 4 birdies and an eagle at the fifth.

The duo would make their only bogey on the 10th hole, but another two birdies and an eagle at the 13th meant a back 9 score of 33 and final score of 63, two better than the Richmond Country Club duo of Head Professional Mark Strong and amateur Dave Gazley and the Victoria Golf Club team of Head Professional Lindsay Bernakevitch and amateur Craig Doell, who each shot scores of 65.

“We had a lot of fun out there,” said Giesbrecht. “We went on a nice little run on the front.”

“I think the key was we always had two putts for birdie or better,” said Carrigan. “When you have 35 chances for birdie, that often leads to good things.”

Giesbrecht said the win continues a great run for Carrigan, which has included three team titles in the last two years.

“It means a lot for the membership of Royal Colwood,” said Giesbrecht. “Kevin is a very good player, but by no means is he guaranteed a spot as our champion. We pride ourselves on a high level of competition at our club and it truly is an honour to be able to play with our Club Champion at a great event like this.”

“Jason’s great to play with,” said Carrigan. “We played well together and to be able to bring the trophy back to Colwood means a lot to us.”

Final results from the 2014 TaylorMade & Adidas Golf PGA of BC Tournament of Champions Presented by Richport Ford:

1. Jason Giesbrecht and Kevin Carrigan (Royal Colwood) – 63 $1,200
T2. Mark Strong and Dave Gazley (Richmond) – 65 $775
T2. Lindsay Bernakevitch and Craig Doell (Victoria) – 65 $775
T4. Chad Scott and William Deck (The Harvest) – 68 $550
T4. Norm Jackson and Gavin Hollebakken (Cowichan) – 68 $550
T6. Mark Thirtle and Chris MacDougall (Capilano) – 69 $316.67
T6. Kevin Maxwell and Jordan Price (Olympic View) – 69 $316.67
T6. Doug Morgan and Gavin Ciulla (Redwoods) – 69 $316.67
T6. Jeff Dinn and Casey Parsons (Metchosin) – 69 $316.67
T6. Mark Anderson and Jim Shaw (Mission) – 69 $316.67
T6. Alan Kristmanson and Craig Wheeler (Whister) – 69 $316.67
T12. Dan Trevisan and Jay Banfield (Squamish) – 70 $155
T12. Dean Claggett and Wayne Van Damne (Two Eagles) – 70 $155
T12. Kevin Oates and Ian McLaughlin (Morningstar) – 70 $155
T12. Victor Vianzon and Donald Miyazaki (Quilchena) – 70 $155
T12. Rob Anderson and Michael Byland (Kelowna) – 70 $155
T12. Bruce Vermee and Trevor Bloom (Sunset Ranch) – 70 $155
T12. Jon Kadin and Alastair Walker (Gallagher’s Canyon) – 70 $155
T12. Padraic O’Rourke and Nick Harriss (Fairmont Chateau Whistler) – 70 $155
T20. Steve Liddicoat and Spencer Grundy (Bowen Island) – 71 $42
T20. Brian McDonald and Thierry Martine (Fairview Mountain) – 71 $42
T20. Jim McMurdo and Mike McGimpsey (Royalwood) – 71 $42
T20. Alan Palmer and Alex Francois (Shaughnessy) – 71 $42
T20. James Legault and Todd Mcrae (Seymour Creek) – 71 $42