2014 State Farm® Neighbourhood Soccer Volunteer Contest now accepting nominations


Back for another season, the State Farm Neighbourhood Soccer Volunteer contest provides recognition to the local volunteers who go above and beyond in contributing to the betterment of soccer at the grassroots level.

Residents of Alberta, Ontario and New Brunswick can nominate soccer volunteers such as coaches, administrators, event coordinators and board members for their outstanding contributions to the growth of soccer within their community.

Nominations can be made online at canadasoccer.com/statefarm_volunteer until 22 August, 2014.

Nominees must be over the age of 18 and must be a current volunteer at an officially sanctioned soccer club in Canada. Entries must be accompanied by a description of the nominee’s contributions to their local club in 125 words or more and will be evaluated on the volunteer’s community impact, volunteer time contributed and tenure with Club. Three regional winners will be selected and announced via canadasoccer.com on Friday, 29 August, 2014. Online voting for the grand prize winner will commence on that date and will run for four weeks until Friday, 26 September.

Last year, Malcolm Rogers of New Brunswick, Brian Kavanagh of Ontario, and Shauna Dowson of Alberta were recognized as outstanding volunteers in their regions and as such took home great prizes for their clubs. Shauna Dowson was then recognized as the Grand Prize winner for her dedication to the Edmonton South East Soccer Association.

Regional winners will receive a Canada Soccer / Umbro prize-pack, which includes: a National Team jersey, a Canada Soccer scarf, and a $500 Umbro equipment voucher. In addition, the Grand Prize winner will receive an Ultimate Soccer Experience, which includes an all-expense paid trip for four to Edmonton, AB to watch Canada’s Women’s National Team take on defending FIFA Women’s World CupTM Champions Japan at Commonwealth Stadium on 25 October.

With the soccer season now in full swing across the country, this is your chance to recognize those who put forth outstanding efforts to grow the beautiful game in our communities. Good luck to all nominees!

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!