NLL use large

June 10,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL
General Manager of the Year Award. The Calgary Roughnecks’ Mike Board,
Edmonton Rush’s Derek Keenan and Rochester Knighthawks’ Curt Styres were
the top three vote recipients for their roles as general managers with
their respective teams.

Board, who also serves as Director of Business Operations for the
Roughnecks, oversaw the Calgary team that finished second in the West
Division with a 12-6 record, good for third overall in the league. The
Roughnecks scored 237 goals this season, tops in the NLL for the
second-straight year. Calgary had three players in the league’s top 10 for
points and goal scoring and boasted the NLL’s best power play (55%) and
penalty kill (67%).

Keenan, doubling as the Rush’s head coach, helped lead Edmonton to a
historic season which included a league-record 14-0 start and culminated
with a 16-2 record as the top overall seed in the NLL standings to clinch
the franchise’s first home playoff game. The Rush allowed a league-low 157
goals and finished second in the league with 220 goals scored. Building
through the draft, Edmonton had two players finish in the top five of
rookie scoring.

Styres, who is also the owner of the Knighthawks, managed Rochester to the
top of the East Division with a 14-4 record, second best in the NLL. The
defending champions went 12-1 in the division and posted an 8-1 record at
home. The Knighthawks allowed 167 goals, second-fewest in the league, and
boasted two players in the league’s top five for scoring, including the
NLL’s leading scorer.

The 2014 NLL General Manager of the Year Award is determined by a vote of
the league’s Board of Governors and General Managers at the end of the
regular season. The winners will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season
Awards Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ont.

The schedule of finalist announcement for the remaining NLL Season Awards
is as follows:

*Wednesday, June 11:* Head Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award)
*Thursday, June 12:* Defensive Player of the Year award finalists
*Monday, June 16:* Transition Player of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 17:* Goaltender of the Year award finalists
*Wednesday, June 18:* Rookie of the Year award finalists
*Thursday, June 19:* Most Valuable Player award finalists
*Monday, June 23:* Executive of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 24:* Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award)