NLL use large

June 12,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced a trio of finalists for the 2014
NLL Defensive Player of the Year award. Two Edmonton Rush defensemen, Chris
Corbeil and Kyle Rubisch, join Buffalo Bandits defender Steve Priolo as the
top three vote recipients for best defenseman in the league.

Corbeil, who serves as the Rush’s captain, led all defensemen in both
points (27) and goals (17). The fifth-year pro tied for the league lead
with five shorthanded goals, ranked seventh in the NLL in shooting
percentage (.405) and tied for seventh with 26 forced turnovers. As part of
the league’s top defense, Corbeil finished eighth in the league with 137
loose balls, third-most among both defensemen and non-faceoff men. The
Oakville, Ont. native, who attended the University of Western Ontario, was
the 15th overall pick in the 2009 NLL Entry Draft.

Priolo ranked second among NLL defensemen with 26 points, tied for first
with 18 assists and third with eight goals. The five-year veteran finished
third in the league in penalty minutes (65) and tied for third in the NLL
in both forced turnovers (31) and shorthanded goals (3). Priolo was also
ninth among league defenders with 99 loose balls. The St. Catharines, Ont.
native played collegiately at Brock University and was drafted 21st overall
in the 2009 NLL Entry Draft.

Rubisch, the two-time defending Defensive Player of the Year, led the NLL
in 2014 with a league-record 61 forced turnovers, 25 more than the
second-highest total. The fourth-year pro recorded nine points (2+7), 25
penalty minutes and 156 loose balls, which ranked seventh in the league and
second among both defensemen and non-faceoff men. The shutdown defender
helped the Rush limit opposing teams to a league-low 157 goals this year.
The Brampton, Ont. native, who played collegiately at Dowling College, was
the second overall selection in the 2010 NLL Entry Draft.

The 2014 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board
of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular
season. The winners will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season Awards
Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ont.

The remaining schedule of finalist announcement for the 2014 NLL Season
Awards is as follows:

*Monday, June 16:* Transition Player of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 17:* Goaltender of the Year award finalists
*Wednesday, June 18:* Rookie of the Year award finalists
*Thursday, June 19:* Most Valuable Player award finalists
*Monday, June 23:* Executive of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 24:* Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award)