NLL use large

June 11,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for 2014 NLL
Head Coach of the Year (The Les Bartley Award). The Rochester Knighthawks’
Mike Hasen, Edmonton Rush’s Derek Keenan and Calgary Roughnecks’ Curt
Malawsky were the top three vote-getters for their head coaching roles with
their respective teams.


Hasen led Rochester to the top of the East Division with a 14-4 record,
second best in the NLL, in his fourth season as head coach. The defending
champions went 12-1 in the division and posted an 8-1 record at home. The
Knighthawks allowed 167 goals, second-fewest in the league, and boasted two
players in the league’s top five for scoring, including the NLL’s leading
scorer. The Toronto, Ont. native played 13 years in the league including
nine seasons with the Knighthawks. Hasen served as an assistant coach with
Rochester for two years before his promotion in 2011 where he won the Les
Bartley Award in his first season as head coach.

Keenan, who also serves as the Rush’s general manager, coached Edmonton to
a historic season which included a league-record 14-0 start and culminated
with a 16-2 record as the top overall seed in the NLL standings to clinch
the franchise’s first home playoff game. The Rush allowed a league-low 157
goals and finished second in the league with 220 goals scored. The Oshawa,
Ont. native, who played three seasons in the league, has been head coach of
the Rush since 2009. Keenan had five previous years of head coaching
experience after five seasons as an assistant coach. Keenan won the Les
Bartley Award in 2006 and was a co-winner in 2010.

Malawsky, who doubles as the team’s assistant general manager, guided
Calgary to second in the West Division with a 12-6 record, good for third
overall in the league. The Roughnecks scored 237 goals this season, tops in
the NLL for the second-straight year. Calgary had three players in the
league’s top 10 for points and goal scoring and boasted the NLL’s best
power play (55%) and penalty kill (67%). The Coquitlam, B.C. native
finished his 12-year playing career with the Roughnecks in 2009 and has
served as head coach for two seasons after joining the coaching staff as an
associate coach in summer 2009.

The Head Coach of the Year award is named in honor of the late Les Bartley,
whose contribution to his teams, to the NLL, and to the game of lacrosse is
immeasurable. Bartley, who passed away in May 2005 after battling with
cancer, left behind a coaching legacy. He won seven championship rings in
his 12-year coaching career and tallied an astonishing 93-38 (.710) regular
season record behind the bench.

The 2014 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board
of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular
season. The winners will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season Awards
Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ont.

The schedule of finalist announcement for the remaining NLL Season Awards
is as follows:

*Thursday, June 12:* Defensive Player of the Year award finalists
*Monday, June 16:* Transition Player of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 17:* Goaltender of the Year award finalists
*Wednesday, June 18:* Rookie of the Year award finalists
*Thursday, June 19:* Most Valuable Player award finalists
*Monday, June 23:* Executive of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 24:* Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award)