BCBears Logo

June 16,2014(ISN) – VANCOUVER, BC – The BC Bears senior men¹s provincial program have announced
the traveling roster for their tour to South America along with their long
list of players for their 2014 Canadian Rugby Championship campaign.

As part of the 125th Anniversary of the British Columbia Rugby Union, the
flagship senior men¹s team will face Buenos Aires on July 16 in Argentina
before shifting to Montevideo where they will battle the Uruguayan national
team on July 19.

The traveling roster is comprised of 24 players selected from the 2013-14 BC
Rugby club season and the recent McKechnie Cup sub-union series. Bears
Director of Rugby Jim Dixon has also announced a long list of 47 players
that will be in mix for the team¹s six CRC games in August and September.

³These players have consistently delivered for the clubs and sub-unions
throughout the season and deserve their places,² said Dixon. ³Unfortunately
we cannot take the entire squad to South America, but we and the players
know there is a long way to go until our first CRC game and everyone named
is essential to our chance of achieving success. The management team are
looking forward to the two training camps scheduled for the end of June and
start of July.²

The Bears will depart for Buenos Aires on July 12th from Vancouver. BC¹s
senior men will be looking for their seventh victory over a full
international Test side when they face Uruguay to wrap up their tour. BC has
previously defeated Australia (11-8, 1958), British Lions (8-3, 1966), Japan
(38-7, 1976), Scotland (22-13, 1985), Japan (46-10, 1989) and Russia (38-16,

The tour roster features Canada Sevens-capped backs Sean Ferguson (UBC
Thunderbirds) and Pat Kay (UVic Vikes). The roster will also have experience
in Canada-A reps Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake RC) and Callum Morrison
(UBCOB Ravens) who recently represented their country at the Americas Rugby
Championship this past Fall in Langford. Canada under-20 scrum half James
Pitblado (UVic Vikes) has also been named to the tour along with junior
national team graduates Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake RC), Luke Campbell
(UVic Vike), Chase Kelliher (UVic Vikes) and Nathan Yanagiya (UVic Vikes).

BC Bears 2014 Schedule

July 16: BC Bears vs Buenos Aires Reps (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

July 19: BC Bears vs Uruguay (Montevideo, Uruguay)

Aug 9: CRC BC Bears at Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary Rugby Park, Alberta)

Aug 16: CRC Prairie Wolf Pack at BC Bears (Apple Bowl, Kelowna)

Sept 4: CRC Atlantic Rock at BC Bears (Klahanie Park, West Vancouver)

Sept 7: CRC Ontario Blues at BC Bears (Klahanie Park, West Vancouver)

Sept 18: CRC BC Bears at Ontario Blues (Guelph University Stadium, Guelph,

Sept 21: CRC BC Bears at Atlantic Rock (Swiler¹s Rugby Complex, St. John’s

BC Bears Long List – Canadian Rugby Championship

1. Ryan Ackerman (Burnaby Lake RC)

2. Noah Barker (James Bay AA)

3. Luke Campbell (UVic Vikes)

4. Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake RC)

5. Taylor Dalziel (James Bay AA)

6. Joe Dolesau (Burnaby Lake RC)

7. Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)

8. Garrett Garbe (UBCOB Ravens)

9. Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake RC)

10. Jeke Gotegote (Burnaby Lake RC)

11. Ben Grant (UBC Thunderbirds)

12. Kevin Gurniak (Vancouver Rowing Club)

13. Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club)

14. Jordan Harvey (Capilano RFC)

15. Keenan Horton (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

16. Riley Ilnicki (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

17. Gurvinder Kalar (Burnaby Lake RC)

18. Pat Kay (UVic Vikes)

19. Gord Kehoe (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

20. Chase Kelliher (UVic Vikes)

21. Andrew Lackner (Burnaby Lake RC)

22. Matt Law (UBCOB Ravens)

23. Anthony Luca (Burnaby Lake RC)

24. Scott MacKay (Burnaby Lake RC)

25. Nate Mantle (Burnaby Lake RC)

26. Alex Mascott (UBC Thunderbirds)

27. Cody McClary (Port Alberni Black Sheep)

28. Glenn McKinnon (Capilano RFC)

29. Clayton Meeres (James Bay AA)

30. John Morris (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

31. Callum Morrison (UBCOB Ravens)

32. Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake RC)

33. James Pitblado (UVic Vikes)

34. Scott Plummer (Burnaby Lake RC)

35. Cole Racine (James Bay AA)

36. Cody Rockson (Burnaby Lake RC)

37. Geoff Ryan (Burnaby Lake RC)

38. Jorden Sandover-Best (UBC Thunderbirds)

39. Chris Seyler (Vancouver Rowing Club)

40. Brock Staller (UBC Thunderbirds)

41. Evan Thomas (Burnaby Lake RC)

42. Clayton Thornber (UVic Vikes)

43. Adam Timler (Bayside AA)

44. Bryan Tyrer (UBC Thunderbirds)

45. Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes)

46. Nathan Yanagiya (UVic Vikes)

47. Adam Zaruba (Capilano RFC)

BC Bears South America Tour Roster

1. Noah Barker (James Bay AA)

2. Luke Campbell (UVic Vikes)

3. Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake RC)

4. Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)

5. Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake RC)

6. Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club)

7. Pat Kay (UVic Vikes)

8. Gord Kehoe (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

9. Chase Kelliher (UVic Vikes)

10. Andrew Lackner (Burnaby Lake RC)

11. Anthony Luca (Burnaby Lake RC)

12. Scott MacKay (Burnaby Lake RC)

13. Nate Mantle (Burnaby Lake RC)

14. Callum Morrison (UBCOB Ravens)

15. John Morris (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

16. James Pitblado (UVic Vikes)

17. Cole Racine (James Bay AA)

18. Cody Rockson (Burnaby Lake RC)

19. Brock Staller (UBC Thunderbirds)

20. Adam Timler (Bayside AA)

21. Evan Thomas (Burnaby Lake RC)

22. Bryan Tyrer (UBC Thunderbirds)

23. Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes)

24. Nathan Yanagiya (Uvic Vikes)

BC Bears South America Tour Staff

Director of Rugby: Jim Dixon

Forwards Coach: Ken Goodland

Backs Coach: Tom Luke

Assistant Coach: Roger Robinson

Strength and Conditioning: Conan Cooper

Athletic Therapist: Jessica Smith

Tour Manager: Simon Smoldon

The BC Bears senior men¹s provincial program is proudly sponsored by
Canadian Direct Insurance. BC Rugby would also like to recognize partners
Langara Fishing Adventures and Rugby Canada for their support of the