NLL use large

June 16,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL
Transition Player of the Year award. The Minnesota Swarm’s Jordan
MacIntosh, Philadelphia Wings’ Brodie Merrill and Edmonton Rush’s Jeremy
Thompson were the top vote recipients for best transition play in the
league this season.

MacIntosh, the defending 2013 Transition Player of the Year, was third on
the Swarm in points in 2014 and led all NLL transition players in points
(61) and goals (23) while finishing second in assists (38). The third-year
pro ranked second in the league with 204 loose balls, sixth with 198
faceoffs won and tied for 10th in the NLL with 25 forced turnovers. The
Oakville, Ontario native played collegiately at RIT and was Minnesota’s
first-round selection (4th overall) in the 2011 NLL Entry Draft.

Merrill, who serves as captain of the Wings, posted 34 points (8+26) this
season and ranked fourth in the league with 189 loose balls, the most among
non-faceoff men. The nine-year NLL veteran was seventh on the team in
scoring and tied for 15th in the league with 23 forced turnovers. The
Orangeville, Ontario native, who played collegiately at Georgetown
University and was the first overall selection in the 2005 NLL Entry Draft,
won back-to-back Transition Player of the Year Awards in 2009 and 2010.

Thompson recorded 17 points (9+8) this year and finished fourth in the
league in both faceoffs won (235) and faceoff percentage (.540). The
third-year pro was fifth overall in the NLL with 165 loose balls, sixth in
shooting percentage (.409) with nine goals on 17 shots, and tied for 15th
in the league with 23 forced turnovers. Thompson, who hails from Nedrow,
N.Y. as part of the Onondaga Nation, played collegiately at Syracuse
University and was the ninth overall pick in the 2011 NLL Entry Draft.

The 2014 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board
of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular
season. The winners will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season Awards
Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ontario.

Remaining schedule of finalist announcement for the 2014 NLL Season Awards:

*Tuesday, June 17:* Goaltender of the Year award finalists
*Wednesday, June 18:* Rookie of the Year award finalists
*Thursday, June 19:* Most Valuable Player award finalists
*Monday, June 23:* Executive of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 24:* Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award)