NLL use large

June 18,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL
Goaltender of the Year award. The Edmonton Rush’s Aaron Bold, Buffalo
Bandits’ Anthony Cosmo and Rochester Knighthawks’ Matt Vinc were the top
trio of vote recipients for best goalie play in the league this year.

Bold, who posted an NLL-record 8.73 goals against average in 2014,
backstopped the Rush to a league-low 157 goals allowed. The nine-year
veteran led the league in wins with a 15-2 record and ranked second in
minutes played (1010:45), fourth in save percentage (.791), and fifth in
total saves (557). The Victoria, B.C. native, who helped Edmonton to a
historic 14-0 start and league-best 16-2 record in 2014, was the 29th
overall pick in the 2005 NLL Entry Draft.

Cosmo set a new league record with 752 saves this year and also led the NLL
in minutes played (1063:36). The 14-year pro, the longest-tenured active
goalie in the NLL, helped lead the Bandits back to the playoffs as the team
allowed 200 goals, third-fewest in the league. Cosmo ranked third in save
percentage (.797) and fourth in both goals against average (10.77) and wins
(8). The Mississauga, Ontario native, who was drafted with the 15th overall
selection in the 1998 NLL Entry Draft, won the Goaltender of the Year award
in 2007.

Vinc, the defending Goaltender of the Year, finished second in the league
this year in save percentage (.798), tied for second in wins with a 12-3
record, and third in goals against average (9.56), saves (595) and minutes
played (947:43). The Knighthawks allowed the second-fewest goals in the NLL
(167) and finished atop the East Division. The nine-year NLL veteran is the
only goalie in league history to win the Goaltender of the Year award three
times (2010, 2011 & 2013). The St. Catharines, Ontario native played
collegiately at Canisius College and was drafted in the first round (6th
overall) of the 2005 NLL Entry Draft.

The 2014 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board
of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular
season. The winners will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season Awards
Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ontario.

Remaining schedule of finalist announcement for the 2014 NLL Season Awards:

*Wednesday, June 18:* Rookie of the Year award finalists
*Thursday, June 19:* Most Valuable Player award finalists
*Monday, June 23:* Executive of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 24:* Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award)