NLL use large

June 18,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced three finalists for the 2014 NLL
Rookie of the Year award. Edmonton Rush forward Robert Church, Minnesota
Swarm forward Logan Schuss and Colorado Mammoth goaltender Dillon Ward were
the top trio of rookie vote recipients for their play this season.


Church finished third among NLL rookies in points (52) and assists (31),
tied for third in goals (21), second in power play goals (5), and seventh
with 51 loose balls in 2014. Church ranked sixth on the team in scoring as
the Rush started the season with a league-record 14-0 run before finishing
atop the West Division and overall standings at 16-2 while scoring the
second-most goals in the league (220). Church recorded at least one point
in all of his 17 games played and posted three or more points in 11 of
those contests. The Coquitlam, B.C. native, who played collegiately at
Drexel University, was the fifth overall selection in the 2013 NLL Entry

Schuss led all rookies in goals (36), assists (37), points (73) and power
play goals, and finished fourth in loose balls (77) this year. The 36 goals
by Schuss were tied for the sixth-most in the NLL and his 73 points ranked
second on the Swarm and 16th in the league overall. Schuss recorded at
least one point in all 18 games played and four or more points in 10
contests. Schuss won the NLL Rookie of the Month award three-straight times
from February to April. The Ladner, B.C. native played collegiate lacrosse
at the Ohio State University and was the first overall pick in the 2013 NLL
Entry Draft.

Ward ranked fourth in the NLL in saves (592), fifth in save percentage
(.773), wins (7) and minutes played (901:13), and seventh in goals against
average (11.58) en route to a 7-7 record in net and a playoff berth for the
Mammoth. Ward recorded 40 or more saves in five games including a 51-stop
effort, the third-most saves by an NLL goalie in a single game this year,
as Colorado allowed the third-most shots per game on average (50.6). The
Orangeville, Ontario native, who played collegiately at Bellarmine
University, was the third overall pick in the 2013 NLL Entry Draft, the
highest selection for a goalie in the league since 1999.

The 2014 NLL Season Awards are determined by a vote of the league’s Board
of Governors, General Managers and Head Coaches at the end of the regular
season. The winners will be announced at the first-ever NLL Season Awards
Ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 21 in Oakville, Ontario.

Remaining schedule of finalist announcement for the 2014 NLL Season Awards:

*Thursday, June 19:* Most Valuable Player award finalists
*Monday, June 23:* Executive of the Year award finalists
*Tuesday, June 24:* Media Person of the Year (The Tom Borrelli Award)