BC Hockey Logo

June 23,2014(ISN) – Penticton – BC Hockey announced the 2014 BC Hockey Award winners at the 95th annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, June 21, 2014 at the Penticton Trade and Convention Centre in Penticton, BC. Nine (9) awards were handed out to deserving individuals in a variety of categories.


Cam Kerr (North Vancouver) – Development Award – Female High Performance

Cam Kerr began his involvement with the Female High Performance during its inception in the early 80’s and was the first person to hold the title of Female High Performance Branch Coordinator. Cam played an integral role in laying the foundation for the Female High Performance Program. His work did not go unnoticed as Hockey Canada retained him as a Regional Scout. This past February, he worked with our Olympians as part of the team staff contingent in Sochi, Russia.

Marty Floris (­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­Vanderhoof) – Development Award – Male High Performance

Marty Floris has been dedicated to the Male High Performance putting in countless hours to prepare athletes for elite competitions. Hailing from Vanderhoof, Marty has been instrumental in the development of Northern players and has been involved with the Northern Camps, BC Cups and Provincial Camps. Recently he held the position of Camp Manager at the 2013 Male Under 16 Provincial Camp and 2014 Male Under 16 BC Cup.

Jacqui Harrison (Campbell River) – Development Award – Officiating

Jacqui Harrison has worked with the Campbell River Minor Hockey Association for 4 years as the Officiating Director. With her personal officiating career spanning 20 years including participation in the 2013 Women’s ESSO Cup, she brings a wealth of knowledge to the young officials in her area. What sets her apart from many other volunteers is her selfless dedication to the officiating side of the sport of hockey. She works extremely hard to ensure all referees are mentored throughout the season and she is always there to answer questions or solve problems. Jacqui’s work ethic and dedication goes above and beyond volunteerism and she is respected in her role due to her fair and honest approach.

Squamish Minor Hockey Association – BC Hockey Safety Award

The Squamish Minor Hockey Association made international headlines this past season when a picture of one of their arena signs went viral. Hockey is a sport we all enjoy and parents need to remember that these are kids playing and officiating and not to take it so seriously. These are kids. This is a game. Parents should cheer for everyone. The referees are human and you and your child to not play for the Canucks. Squamish Minor Hockey Association ensures all team staff have a full understanding of their safety roles through certifications, classes and scenarios. A communication flow chart was established to ensure a quick line of communication to the proper person to deal with any issue quickly.

Mike Squire (Parksville) – Coach of the Year

Mike Squire is a dedicated volunteer that has given selflessly to the Oceanside Minor Hockey Association for the past number of years by coaching, mentoring and supporting girls in the community. This year, Mike coached two teams. He was head coach of the Oceanside Icebreakers female peewee rec team that made it to the Vancouver Island Amateur Hockey Association island league finals, and was co-coach of the Vancouver Island Amateur Hockey Association Regional Female Midget A Impact team that successfully won their league, many tournaments and the BC Hockey Provincial Championship. Mike is a dedicated, committed and positive coach who inspires not only the players, but people around him as well.

Nick Bilko (Langley) – Official of the Year

Nick Bilko is a level 4 Referee and Linesman who is a product of the Langley Minor Hockey Association and primarily officiates in the BC Hockey Above Minor Program as a linesman in the WHL, CIS and BCHL and referee in Junior B. Nick had a successful season in 2013-2014 by being selected to officiate in several Provincial and National Championships. As a Referee at the Junior B level, Nick participated in both the Cyclone Taylor Cup and the Keystone Cup. In his capacity as a Linesman, Nick officiated the WHL Playoffs in addition to being selected as a linesman at the Royal Bank Cup in Vernon and was the lone BC representative at the CIS National Championships in Saskatoon.

Thompson Cariboo Minor Hockey Association – Minor Hockey Association of the Year

The Thompson Cariboo Minor Hockey Association had an outstanding year fostering a feeling of inclusion and bringing new players to the great game of hockey. Their focus of reducing the cost to play was important because this would allow more children the opportunity to play. Through funding the Association is able to support 10 families a year. As well a program was created to allow for sets of hockey equipment to be used for 1 or 2 years at no cost. These programs have paid off and in a few short years the Association has grown from 20 players to nearly 100 players this past season.

Juan de Fuca Minor Hockey Association – President’s Awards

The Juan de Fuca Minor Hockey Association always works hard to give back to its’ members and community; this past season was no exception. The scholarship and bursary committee gave a total of $21,000 to 10 members to help cover their post-secondary costs. Juan de Fuca Minor Hockey Association also donated over $40,000 to organizations such as Athletics for Kids and other community programs which help provide children with the ability to play and stay in sports. Some other fundraising efforts within the association included: Picture Day Food Drive, Coaches versus Coaches Christmas Game and various parent social nights. Juan de Fuca was recently named Minor Hockey Association of the Year by the Vancouver Island Amateur Hockey Association.

Gladys Hewson (Maple Ridge) – Life Members’ Award

For over 30 Years Gladys Hewson has been a volunteer with the Ridge Meadows Minor Hockey Association. Holding many positions within the Association, ranging from registrar to sitting on the Finance Committee or Discipline Committee, her continued focus has been to make hockey more affordable for families. Her primary goal has always been to have children play minor hockey. She was always there for each and every child that played minor hockey in Ridge Meadows.

In addition to the BC Hockey Awards that were handed out last night, former Hockey Canada CEO and President, Bob Nicholson was presented with the Diamond Stick Award on Friday, June 20, 2014.

Bob Nicholson has played an integral role in building the game of hockey in BC and Canada. He helped implement skills development and high performance programs, and is responsible for the growth of grassroots initiatives, in addition to providing teaching resource and improving on-ice safety.

Since 1998, Nicholson has held the dual positions of CEO and President of Hockey Canada. During that time, the Canadian Men’s Team has won three (3) gold medals in the span of four (4) Winter Olympics, starting at the 2002 Salt Lake City Games and continuing with back-to-back wins in Vancouver and Sochi. The Canadian Women’s Team has won four (4) consecutive gold medals. Overall, Canada’s national team has won 76 medals at World Championships, Olympics and World Cups, including 44 gold medals, all with Nicholson at the helm.

Prior to his above roles, he was senior vice president of the Canadian Hockey Associations, vice-president of programs with the Canadian Amateur Hockey Associations and technical director at BC Amateur Hockey Association. In 2004, Nicholson was inducted into the BC Hockey Hall of Fame.

BC Hockey would like to congratulate each of the winners.