June 26,2014(ISN) – The 2014 Canadian Track and Field Championships will feature athletes who have earned their spot to represent Canada at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, Scotland.  The Championships also serves as the selection trials for the North America, Central America and Caribbean Athletic Association (NACAC) Under 23 Championships. Competition will feature a number World Championship medallists and exciting head-to-head match-ups. Here’s a look at some of the Moncton 2014 can’t miss events.

Follow the Championships live on Bell Aliant, live streaming is presented by Timex.



Athletes Nominated for the Glasgow 2014 Canadian Team

  • Men‘s 100-metres (FINAL Saturday 2:00 p.m.) After two runner-up finishes at the NCAA Championships and a Canadian record in the 200-metres, can Aaron Brown of Toronto, Ont., defend his title as Canada’s fastest man? Talented 19 year-old Andre De Grasse of Markham, Ont., and 2013 World Championships bronze 4×100-metres teammates Justyn Warner of Markham, Ont., Gavin Smellie of Etobicoke, Ont., and Dontae Richards-Kwok of Mississauga, Ont., will surely give him a challenge.   
  • Men‘s 800-metres (FINAL Sunday 3:05 p.m.)  A young, experienced group of 800-metre runners will make this an exciting final to watch. 2012 Olympian Geoff Harris of Halifax, N.S., and 2013 World Championship qualifier Anthony Romaniw of Hamilton, Ont., take on a couple of university athletes that compete south of the border. Brandon McBride of Windsor, Ont., likes to lead from the front and has used this strategy to win both the NCAA indoor and outdoor titles this season. While Keffri Neal of Surrey, B.C., has emerged onto the scene setting personal bests and finishing in the top three at the NCAA outdoor final.
  • Women‘s 800-metres (FINAL Sunday 2:00 p.m.)  This race could feature one of the most competitive finals during the Championships. Commonwealth Games team members Melissa Bishop of Eganville, Ont., and Karine Belleau-Béliveau of Montreal, Que., will be challenged by a trio middle-distance ladies from British-Columbia: Diane Cummins of Victoria, B.C., Jessica Smith of North Vancouver, B.C., & Helen Crofts of West Vancouver, B.C. Anything can happen over the last 200-metres of this race.
  • Men‘s 3000-metres Steeplechase (FINAL Saturday 2:45 p.m.) This final features three men who will don the maple leaf at the Commonwealth Games: Matthew Hughes of Oshawa, Ont., Taylor Milne of Guelph, Ont., and Chris Winter of Vancouver, B.C. Hughes set a new Canadian Record in the steeplechase of 8:11.46 on his way to a sixth place finish at last year’s World Championships.
  • Men‘s 20k Race Walk (FINAL Friday 6:20 p.m.) Who’s ready to come downtown and take a “Walk on the Wild Side“? Team Canada placed three race walkers in the top 13 at this past May’s IAAF World  Race Walk Cup. Evan Dunfee of Richmond, B.C., Inaki Gomez of Vancouver, B.C., and Ben Thorne of Kitimat, B.C., all went under the Canadian record to finish just one spot off the podium.
  • Men‘s high jump (FINAL Saturday 7:00 p.m.) Derek Drouin of Corunna, Ont., keeps raising the bar. Drouin has medaled at the Olympic Games and World Championships and bettered his previous Canadian record jumping 2.40-metres this spring. Commonwealth Games teammate Michael Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., is also a world-class jumper. You don’t want to miss the opportunity to watch Drouin and Mason defy gravity.
  •  Men‘s shot put (FINAL Friday 9:20 p.m.) After a popular debut, Shot in the Dark is back. Last year, the festive crowd saw Tim Nedow of Brockville, Ont.,take the men’s title, with 2012 Olympian Justin Rodhe of Kamloops, B.C. placing third. Will Rodhe get the better of Nedow this time around?
  • Women‘s 1500-metres (FINAL Sunday 10:20 a.m.) If you like middle-distance match-ups then be sure to check out this race. Nicole Sifuentes of Winnipeg, Man., who won a bronze medal at this year’s World Indoor Championships and Kate Van Buskirk of Brampton, Ont., the defending Canadian champion, are a pair to watch. The two were separated by .4 seconds last year; in which order will they finish on Sunday?
  • Women‘s 100-metre hurdles (FINAL Sunday 10:00 a.m.) This event has consistently featured a deep pool of high-quality Canadian athletes. Jessica Zelinka of London, Ont., and Angela Whyte of Edmonton, Alta., are both Olympic finalists. Whyte made the World Championships final last summer in Moscow. Phylicia George of Markham, Ont., looks to regain the form that propelled her to the 2012 Olympic Games. 
  • Para-athletics

  • Josh Cassidy of Ottawa, Ont., will race in the men’s T54 wheelchair 800-metres (FINAL Sunday 2:25 p.m.), 1500-metres (FINAL Saturday 6:50 p.m.) and 5000-metres (FINAL Sunday 10:40 a.m.). Cassidy is a 2013 IPC World Championships medallist in the 10000-metres. Cassidy finished fifth in the 800-metres at the 2012 Paralympic Games. Cassidy will compete in the 1500-metres at the upcoming Commonwealth Games.
  • Alexandre Dupont of Clarenceville, Que., races in the men’s T54 wheelchair 800-metres (FINAL Sunday 2:25 p.m.), 1500-metres (FINAL Saturday 6:50 p.m.) and 5000-metres (FINAL Sunday 10:40 a.m.). He will represent Canada in the 1500-metres at the Commonwealth Games. At the 2013 edition of the Canadian Championships Dupont won an astounding 6 medals in events ranging from the 100 to the 5000-metres.
  • Virginia McLachlan of Windsor, Ont., leads the way in the women’s ambulatory sprints, T35 100-metres (FINAL Friday 2:50 p.m.) and 200-metres (FINAL Sunday 3:10 p.m.), coming off a pair of silver medals from the 2013 IPC World Championships.  She won bronze in both events at the 2012 Paralympic Games.  
  • You don’t want to miss a chance to watch Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., in action in the men’s T53 wheelchair 100-metres (FINAL Friday 11:10 a.m.), 200-metres (FINAL Saturday 2:20 p.m.), 400-metres (FINAL Friday 2:45 p.m.) and 800-metres (FINAL Sunday 2:25 p.m.). Lakatos won gold in the 100, 200 and 400-metres at the 2013 IPC World Championships and took silver in the 800-metres. Lakatos won a pair of silver medals at the 2012 Paralympic Games.
  • Becky Richter of Saskatoon, Sask., will compete in the seated T51 club throw (FINAL Sunday 11:45 a.m.) and discus throw (FINAL Saturday 9:45 a.m.). Richter won silver medals in both events at the 2013 IPC World Championships.
  •  Diane Roy of Sherbrooke, Que., will race in the T54 wheelchair 100-metres (FINAL Friday 10:55 a.m.), 200-metres (FINAL Saturday 2:10 p.m.), 400-metres (FINAL Friday 2:40 p.m.) and 1500-metres (FINAL Saturday 6:40 p.m.). The national team veteran, and Paralympic Games medallist, will race in the 1500-metres at the Commonwealth Games in Scotland.