June 25,2014(ISN) – Race info
Sport: Cycling – road
Start type: Mass start
Racers: 10
Timed on: iPad
Timed with: Webscorer PRO
Version: 1.6.3
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Country: Canada
Updated: Wed, June 25, 2014
7:48 AM (GMT-7)


A small turnout this evening as it had been raining on and off all day. However, the sun came out and the small field enjoyed dry racing. After the 3neutral laps, where Youth rider Tayden DePol sat comfortably in the pack, Iain Hay picked up the pace and led for the next couple of the bell for prime one, all were together and as they came round for the flag, James Grant surged ahead, with Janna Gillick close on his wheel and Iain taking third. Then all settled down until the second prime, which was won by Brodie Hay, with fellow Vipyr James second and CVCC’s Ray Wagner third. The speed now picked up and at the bell for prime 3, Ray was forcing the pace. However, by the flag, he was passed by most of the field, the prime being taken again by James, with Brodie second and Iain third. The next lap saw another increase in speed and after a further two laps, the field split, with Ray, Iain, Janna, Frontrunners’ Norm Thibault and James steadily increasing their lead over the rest of the field. Prime four was again James’, with Janna second and Norm third.
The fast moving quintette continued to take time out of the stragglers, who were having some difficulty organising a chase, and,just before prime five, were only fifteen seconds away from lapping them. This final prime was again won by Ray, with James second and Janna third. With four laps to go, the leaders lapped the remainder of the field which was now down to only three riders, Dave Thomas having run out of gas.
At the line, it was James winning from Iain, with Normon third, Ray fourth and Janna fifth.
The course was again well supplied with marshals and Al Henderson did a great job looking after laps.