NLL use large

June 27,2014(ISN) – The National Lacrosse League has announced five finalists for the NLL Hall
of Fame Class of 2014 ballot. The nominees this year are Jake Bergey, Pat
Coyle, Chris Hall, Pat McCready and Kaleb Toth. Brief summaries of each
candidate’s accomplishments are listed below. Ballots are cast by the
teams, current members of the NLL Hall of Fame and senior members of the
league’s covering media.

Nominees for NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2014:

*Jake Bergey*
Jake Bergey played 10 seasons in the league from 1998-2008, all with the
Philadelphia Wings. Bergey recorded 557 points (256+301) and 531 loose
balls in 133 career games played. Bergey won two championships with the
Wings in 1998 and 2001. The forward ranks second in franchise history in
points, goals and assists, fourth in games played and seventh in loose
balls. Bergey added 30 points (13+17) and 39 loose balls in nine career
playoff games with two Championship Game appearances (1998, 2001).

*Pat Coyle*

Pat Coyle played 12 seasons in the league from 1994-2008 including seven
seasons with the Toronto Rock from 1998-2004 and four years with the
Colorado Mammoth from 2005-2008. The defenseman played in 156 career
regular season games, recording 940 loose balls and 133 points (28+105).
Coyle won the league’s Defensive Player of the Year Award in 2002, the
first year in which the award was given. Coyle’s teams made it to the
playoffs in 11 of his 12 seasons where he posted 12 points (3+9) along with
116 loose balls in 18 games played and won five championships (Toronto
1999, 2000, 2002 & 2003; Colorado 2006) in six Championship Game

*Chris Hall*

Chris Hall served as a head coach in the league for 12 seasons, first with
the Calgary Roughnecks from 2002-2007 before finishing his coaching career
with the Vancouver Stealth from 2009-2014. Hall’s 85 regular-season wins
ranks third all-time behind Darris Kilgour (121) and Les Bartley (93). With
an 11-6 career record in the postseason, Hall’s 11 playoff wins rank fourth
all-time behind Bartley (22), Troy Cordingley (12) and Kilgour (12). In
2010, Hall became just the second coach in NLL history to win the
Champion’s Cup with two different teams as he led the Stealth to its
first-ever title after winning it all with Calgary in 2004. The Stealth
reached the championship game in three of four seasons from 2010-2013 and
Hall was a co-recipient of the 2010 NLL Head Coach of the Year award.

*Pat McCready*
Pat McCready played 17 seasons in the league from 1996-2012 including eight
seasons with the Buffalo Bandits and seven seasons with the Rochester
Knighthawks. McCready recorded 384 points (141+243) over his career along
with 1,593 loose balls, third-most in NLL history, and ranks third in the
league all-time in penalty minutes (468) and seventh in games played (219).
The 2011 NLL Defensive Player of the Year won three championships, two with
the Knighthawks, first in 1997 and again in 2012 as the team’s captain,
along with one with the Bandits (2008). McCready added 37 points (7+30) and
189 loose balls in 31 career playoff games with eight Championship Game
appearances (1997, 1999-2000, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012).

*Kaleb Toth*
Kaleb Toth played 13 seasons in the league from 2000-2012 including 11
years with the Calgary Roughnecks after his first two seasons with the
Toronto Rock. Toth recorded 713 points (315+398) and 703 loose balls in 186
career regular season games and is Calgary’s all-time leader in games
played, goals, assists and points. Toth won two championships with the
Roughnecks in 2004 and 2009 after winning a title with the Rock in 2000
when he scored the game-winning goal with one second left in the fourth
quarter. On March 2, 2013, Toth became the first player to receive the
“Forever a Roughneck” distinction with his banner raised to the top of
Scotiabank Saddledome. Toth added 71 points (31+40) and 84 loose balls in
20 career playoff games with four Championship Game appearances (2000-2001,
2004, 2009).

*(End of Nominees)*
Voters may select up to three of the five nominees on the ballot. To win
induction into the Hall of Fame, nominees must be selected on a minimum of
75 percent of the ballots cast.

The nominees were selected by the league’s Hall of Fame Committee. Once
nominated as finalists, candidates remain on the ballot for a second year
if they do not receive enough votes for induction in their first year.
Nominees come off the ballot if they do not receive enough votes in the
second year, but can be re-nominated by the Hall of Fame Committee in the
future to return to the ballot. The Committee considered all of the
individuals that were suggested by fans earlier this month via the league’s
Facebook and Twitter pages.

The NLL Hall of Fame was established in 2006. The 21 current members are:

Class of 2006 (Founding Members)*Les Bartley
Russ Cline
Chris Fritz
Gary Gait
Paul Gait

Class of 2007 *Mike French
Darris Kilgour
Tom Marechek

Class of 2008*Sal LoCascio
Johnny Mouradian
Tony Resch

Class of 2009*Dallas Eliuk
Jim Veltman

Class of 2010 *Rich Kilgour
Dan Stroup
John Tucker

Class of 2011*Bob Watson

Class of 2012*Steve Dietrich

Class of 2013*Pat O’Toole

*Members of Media Recognized by Hall of Fame *Tom Borrelli (2007)
Neil Stevens (2008)