June 27,2014(ISN) – Longtime curling volunteer Jack Bowman has been named winner of the 2014 Canadian
Curling Association Award of Achievement, it was announced today.

The Victoria resident, who chaired the CCA’s Board of Governors for the 2010-11
curling season, capping his five-year stint with the board, will be formally
presented with his award at the CCA Hall of Fame & Awards Gala on Aug. 26 in Niagara
Falls, Ont., during the inaugural CCA Summit.

“I never got involved with the sport of curling for awards or recognition; I did it
because I love the game and the people in it,” said Bowman, a member of the Canadian
Curling Hall of Fame. “This is truly a wonderful and gratifying honour, especially
considering the amazing people who’ve won it before me, and their contributions to

The CCA Award of Achievement, an annual award, recognize individuals who have
contributed significantly to curling in one of four areas — builder, technical
development (instructor, coach, official, ice technician), marketing and media.

“It’s people like Jack who make the sport of curling thrive in our country,” said
Hugh Avery, Chair of the CCA Board of Governors. “His efforts at the local,
provincial and national levels have made our sport better, and he’s done the
majority of his work behind the scenes, with little or no recognition. Jack is a
worthy winner of the Award of Achievement.”

Bowman’s involvement in curling volunteerism began in the mid-1980s in Toronto, as
he served a term as president of the Weston Golf and Country Club. Upon moving to
Victoria in 1996, Bowman quickly got involved with the Victoria Curling Centre,
serving as president for two terms while also serving as the club and zone rep for
the Pacific Coast Curling Association for five years. Later, he served as
executive-director of the PCCA, and was awarded a life membership in 2004, which was
recognized by Curl BC a year later as the three curling associations in that
province merged into one.

Bowman continues to be active behind the scenes; he has presented CCA Business of
Curling seminars since 1998 to curlers and clubs in the four western provinces as
well as Northern Ontario, and more recently, he has worked with curling facilities
in B.C. to help them apply for B.C. Community Gaming Grants — work that produced
$540,000 being awarded to 27 B.C. curling centres during the 2012-13 season.

Former winners:

• Pat Bibby, SK (2013)
• Linda Corcoran, ON (2012)
• Bill Tschirhart, BC (2012)
• Ron Meyers, SK (2008)
• Arnold Asham, MB (2007)
• Marilyn Barraclough, AB (2007)
• Al Kersey, BC (2006)
• Elmer Schmidt, SK (2004)
• Hans Wuthrich, MB (2003)
• Gene Friesen, SK (2002)
• Linda Moore, BC (2000)
• Bill Robertson, BC (1999)
• Wayne Kiel, SK (1999)
• André Ferland, QC (1998)
• Arleen Day, SK (1997)
• Vic Rauter, ON (1997)
• Robin Wilson, BC (1996)
• Marcel DeWitte, ON (1995)
• Shorty Jenkins, ON (1995)
• Tom Coulterman, ON (1994)
• Doug Maxwell, ON (1994)
• Paul Sauvé, ON (1993)
• Ralph Bagley, MB (1993)
• Ian Maclaine, (1992)
• Keith Reilly, ON (1992)
• Brian Cassidy, NB (1992)
• Tom and Anne Fisher, QC (1992)
• Bob Picken, MB (1991)
• Pat Fownes, NB (1991)