June 27,2014(ISN) – Moncton, N.B. – Alyx Treasure of Prince George B.C., captured her first national
title winning the women’s high jump final. The recent NCAA runner-up set a new
personal best jumping 1.89-metres.

After a final miss at 1.92-metres Treasure beamed,
“I’m starting to breakthrough this 1.80-metres barrier so I was really trying to
get that 1.90-metres plus, it’s coming.”The last time the Kansas State junior competed
in Moncton was at the 2010 IAAF World Junior Championships and she’s happy that
it was a better experience. “To come back to Moncton, the one place where I messed
up, it feels good to redeem myself,”explained Treasure. Finishing on the podium
with Treasure were Jillian Drouin of Corunna, Ont. 1.86m (2nd) and Rebecca Haworth
of Waverly, N.S., at 1.83-metres (3rd).

Vanessa Murby of Vancouver, B.C., set a new Canadian record in the F11 classification
ambulatory javelin of 20.19-metres. The previous record of 18.54-metres stood since
1981. Pamela LeJean of Halifax, N.S., set a new Canadian record in the F52 seated
shot put of 4.41-metres. Marta Sandoval Gustafson held the previous mark of
set in 2012.

Two of Canada’s most prolific Paralympic stream athletes, Brent Lakatos of Dorval,
Que., and Diane Roy of Sherbrooke, Que., each claimed a pair of Canadian titles
on the first day of competition at the 2014 Canadian Track and Field Championships.
Lakatos and Roy each began their days with victories in the wheelchair 100-metres
followed in the afternoon with wins in the 400-metres. Roy’s win in the wheelchair
400-metres was in a new Championship record of 1:00.42. Also earning a pair
victories were Jonathan Furey of Waterloo, Ont., and Djami Diallo of North Vancouver,

Barry Britt of Hampton, N.B., used a strong move five laps out from the finish,
helped by a group of vocal supporters, to capture the men’s 10,000m Canadian title.
The local product recorded a time of 30:10.81 in warm, sunny conditions. On the
women’s side, Leslie Sexton of London, Ont., took the lead from the gun and ran
away from the field to capture the win.

The following is a list of athletes who won national titles on day one of the 2014
Canadian Track and Field Championships in Moncton, N.B.

Day 1 Canadian Champions


Djami Diallo, T34 wheelchair 100m, 21.18

Virginia McLauchlan, T35 ambulatory 100m, 16.38

Cindy Burt, T38 ambulatory 100m, 15.83

Becky Richter, T51 wheelchair 100m , 31.94

Sarah White, T53 wheelchair 100m, 20.32

Diane Roy, T54 wheelchair 100m, 17.91

Djami Diallo, T34 wheelchair 400m, 1:20.29

Meghan O’Brien, T35 ambulatory 400m, 1:30.08

Leah Robinson, T36 ambulatory 400m, 1:13.19 Championship Record

Jessica Frotten, T53 wheelchair 400m, 1:08.76

Diane Roy, T54 wheelchair 400m, 1:00.42 Championship Record

Vanessa Murby, F11 ambulatory Javelin, 20.19m Canadian Record

Pamela Le Jean, F52 wheelchair Shot Put, 4.41m Canadian Record

Alyx Treasure, High Jump, 1.89m

Leslie Sexton, 10,000m, 37:15.65


Braedon Dolfo , T13 ambulatory 100m, 11.79

Jonathan Furey, T37 ambulatory 100m, 15.10

Kyle Whitehouse, T38 ambulatory 100m, 11.60

Austin Smeenk, T34 wheelchair 100m, 17.09

Jackie Marciano, T44 ambulatory 100m, 12.58

Ryan Shay, T52 wheelchair 100m, 20.50

Brent Lakatos, T53 wheelchair 100m , 14.52

Colin Mathieson, T54 wheelchair 100m, 14.63

Dustin Walsh, T11 ambulatory 400m, 56.03

Jonathan Furey, T37 ambulatory 400m, 1:09.10

Jackie Marciano, T44 ambulatory 400m, 55.66

Brent Lakatos, T53 wheelchair 400m , 50.71

Alexandre Dupont, T54 wheelchair 400m, 50.84

Guillaume Ouellet, T13 ambulatory 1500m, 4:14.26

Shayne Dobson, T37 ambulatory 1500m, 4:44.67

Richard Carr, F11 ambulatory High Jump, 1.55m

Cody Salomons, F44 ambulatory High Jump, 1.70m

Alister McQueen, F37 ambulatory Javelin, 49.14m

James Brace, F33 wheelchair Shot Put, 7.83m

Barry Britt, 10,000m, 30:10.81

What to watch on Day Two

The second day at the Championships get underway at 10 a.m. AST with the women and
men’s sprint hurdles semi-finals. The women’s 400-metres is the first track final
of the day (11:55 a.m. AST), followed by the men.

The 100-metres finals (2:05 p.m. AST) will feature fields with experienced athletes
ready to battle for the title of the fastest man and woman in Canada. The men’s
favorite is defending Canadian champion and 4×100-metres World Championship bronze
medallist, Aaron Brown of Toronto, Ont. On the women’s side, a talented group of
ladies that worked together to break the Canadian 4×100-metres record last summer
make for a deep field.

The 3000-metres steeplechase finals (2:45 p.m.) each feature the current Canadian
record holders for the event, Matthew Hughes of Oshawa, Ont., and Jessica Furlan
of Regina, Sask. Hughes won’t have a free ride and can expect a challenge from
his Commonwealth Games teammates, Taylor Milne of Guelph, Ont., and Chris Winter
of Vancouver, B.C.

Highlighting the field events is the men’s high jump final at 7 p.m. AST. Olympic
and World Championship bronze medallist Derek Drouin of Corunna, Ont., is having
his best season yet. Earlier this year he improved his Canadian record jumping
2.40-metres. Commonwealth Games teammate Michael Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., is
also a world-class jumper. You don’t want to miss the opportunity to watch Drouin
and Mason defy gravity.

In para-athletics don’t miss the men’s and women’s finals in the wheelchair 200-metres
(2:15 p.m. AST) and 1500-metres (6:40 p.m. AST). The men’s wheelchair 1500-metres
is highlighted by Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., Josh Cassidy of Ottawa, Ont., and
Alexandre Dupont of Clarenceville, Que.