June 29,2014(ISN) – Moncton, N.B. – Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., and Diane Roy of Sherbrooke, Que.,
won a pair of national titles on day two of the Canadian Track and Field Championships.

Lakatos won gold in the wheelchair T53 200 and 1500-metres while Roy took gold in
the women’s events bringing both of their total gold medal counts at these
Championships to four.

Track event finals on day two began with the men’s and women’s 400-metres. Daundre
Barnaby of Brampton, Ont., used a strong homestretch run over the last 100-metres
to take the men’s title in a time of 45.96. Carline Muir of Edmonton, Alta., claimed
the women’s title, her 3rd outdoor 400-metres Canadian Championships, winning
convincingly in 52.13.

With their wins in the 100-metres final, Gavin Smellie of Etobicoke, Ont., and Crystal
Emmanuel of Toronto, Ont., each claimed titles as “Fastest Man and Woman in Canada.”
Smellie was able to hold off a talented group of sprinters to cross the line in
10.37. Emmanuel claimed her third 100-metres national title running 11.47 into a
0.7 m/s headwind. “I’m going to the Commonwealth Games and will try to bring home
a medal for Canada,” explained Emmanuel.

Defending national champions in the 3000-metres steeplechase, Matthew Hughes of
Oshawa, Ont. & Jessica Furlan of Regina, Sask., each succesfully defended their
crowns. Hughes and Furlan put in strong moves over the last couple of laps to pull
away from their respective fields to secure convincing wins. Furlan’s time of 9:55.71
was good for a new Canadian Championship record.

Jessica O’Connell of Calgary, Alta., and Cameron Levins of Campbell River, B.C.,
proved to be the class of the 5000-metres fields. Levins ran alone for the majority
of his effort and came up less than a second short of Sean Kaley’s 13:15.16
Championship record. “I’m looking forward to what’s going to come later in the season, I think
this is a good step for me.”

In field events Julie Labonté of Sainte-Justine, Que., and Tim Nedow of Brockville,
Ont., backed up their Shot in the Dark titles from last night with wins in the discus
competition. Over at the triple jump, Caroline Ehrhardt of Espanola, Ont., and Patrick
Hanna of Montreal, Que., took home national titles with jumps of 13.06-metres &

Men’s high jump, featuring Commonwealth Games teammates Derek Drouin of Corunna,
Ont., and Michael Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., went as predicted. Drouin, the 2012
Olympic and 2013 World Championship bronze medallist cleared 2.28-metres on his
way to victory. Mason was second.

Elizabeth Gleadle of Vancouver, B.C., improved her Championship record in winning
the women’s javelin with a throw of 60.62-metres. The previous mark of 60.12-metres
was set by Gleadle in 2012.

In para-athletics throws, Christel Robichaud of Moncton, N.B., set a Canadian record
in the F56 category wheelchair discus with a toss of 15.10-metres.

Day 2 Canadian Champions


Crystal Emmanuel – 100m – 11.46

Djami Diallo – T34 para wheelchair 200m – 40.04

Becky Richter – T51 para wheelchair 200m – 1:02.56

Jessica Frotten – T53 para wheelchair 200m – 35.51

Diane Roy – T54 para wheelchair 200m – 31.51

Carline Muir – 400m – 52.13

Diane Roy – T54 para wheelchair 1500m – 3:46.16

Jessica Furlan – 3000m Steeplechase – 9:55.71 Championship Record

Jessica O’Connell – 5000m – 15:47.35

Julie Labonté – Discus – 51.94m

Becky Richter – F51 para wheelchair Discus – 5.99m

Martine Sandoval Gustafson – F52 para wheelchair Discus – 8.85m

Christel Robichaud – F56 para wheelchair Discus – 15.10m Canadian Record

Jessye Brockway – F57 para wheelchair Discus – 18.57m

Kellianne Richardson – F36 para ambulatory Discus – 11.52m

Jennifer Brown – F38 para ambulatory Discus – 30.05m

Heather Cowley – F44 para ambulatory Discus – 19.09m

Vanessa Murby – F11 para ambulatory Discus – 21.59m

Kellianne Richardson – F36 para ambulatory Discus – 11.52m

Caroline Ehrhardt – Triple Jump – 13.06m

Elizabeth Gleadle – Javelin – 60.62m Championship Record


Gavin Smellie – 100m – 10.37

Austin Smeenk – T34 para wheelchair 200m – 30.88

Brent Lakatos – T53 para wheelchair 200m – 26.00

Colin Mathieson – T54 para wheelchair 200m – 26.29

Daundre Barnaby – 400m – 45.96

Dustin Walsh – T11 para ambulatory 800m – 2:09.22

Jared Broughton – T13 para ambulatory 800m – 2:20.17

Jonathan Furey – T37 para ambulatory 800m – 2:41.84

Brent Lakatos – T53 para wheelchair 1500m – 3:20.70

Alexandre Dupont – T54 para wheelchair 1500m – 3:20.79

Matthew Hughes – 3000m Steeplechase – 8:32.33

Cameron Levins – 5000m – 13:25.70

Jason Dunkerley / Josh Karanja – T11 visually impaired 5000m – 16:09.91

Tim Nedow – Discus – 54.77m

Jon Van Veen – F33 para wheelchair Discus – 9.15m

Ryan Bennett – F34 para wheelchair Discus – 14.72m

James Brace – F56 para wheelchair Discus – 17.24m

Issa Ouedraugo – F57 para wheelchair Discus – 23.50m

Patrick Hanna – Triple Jump – 14.86m

Derek Drouin – High Jump – 2.28m

Caleb Jones – Javelin

What to watch on Day Three

The third and final day of the Championships gets underway at 9:15 a.m. AST with
the women’ pole vault final. The women’s 100-metre hurdles is the first track final
of the day (10:00 a.m. AST), followed by the men.This event has consistently featured
a deep pool of high-quality Canadian athletes. Jessica Zelinka of London, Ont.,
and Angela Whyte of Edmonton, Alta., are both Olympic finalists. Whyte also made
the IAAF World Championships final last summer in Moscow. Phylicia George of Markham,
Ont., looks to regain the form that propelled her to the 2012 Olympic Games. George
was the top qualifier in today’s semi-finals.

The men’s pole vault (12:30 p.m. AST) features Canadian record holder and 2012 World
Junior Championships bronze medallist Shawnacy Barber. He won this year’s NCAA indoor
title and finished runner-up in the outdoor competition.

The men’s T54 classification wheelchair 800-metres (2:25 p.m. AST) will include
Josh Cassidy of Ottawa, Ont. and Alexandre Dupont of Clarenceville, Que. Cassidy
finished fifth in this event at the 2012 Paralympic Games.

The women’s 800-metres final (3:00 p.m. AST) will showcase one of the most competitive
fields at the championship. Commonwealth Games team members Melissa Bishop of
Ont., and Karine Belleau-Béliveau of Montreal, Que., will be challenged by a trio
of middle-distance ladies from British-Columbia. Diane Cummins of Victoria, Jessica
Smith of North Vancouver and Helen Crofts of West Vancouver. Anything can happen
over the last 200-metres of this race.

The men’s 800-metres (3:05 p.m. AST) features a young, experienced group of runners
that will make this an exciting final to watch. 2012 Olympian Geoff Harris of Halifax,
N.S., and 2013 World Championship competitor Anthony Romaniw of Hamilton, Ont.,
take on a couple of university athletes that compete south of the border. Brandon
McBride of Windsor, Ont., likes to lead from the front and has used this strategy
to win both the NCAA indoor and outdoor titles this year. Keffri Neal of Surrey,
B.C. has emerged onto the scene setting personal bests and a Top 3 finish at the
NCAA outdoor final.