Vancouver Canucks2

July 10,2014(ISN) – Penticton, BC – The 2014 Young Stars Classic in Penticton, BC, beginning Friday, September 12, 2014, will feature a number of notable prospects of the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames, Edmonton Oilers and Winnipeg Jets.

A total of twelve first round draft picks will be participating in the event this year. Over the past three Young Star Classics, over 65 players have gone on to play NHL games. Complete rosters will be released at a later date.

The Vancouver Canucks roster will include five players selected in the first round of the NHL Entry Draft since 2011: Jared McCann (24th overall in 2014), Bo Horvat (9th overall in 2013), Hunter Shinkaruk (24th overall in 2013), Brendan Gaunce (26th overall in 2012), and Nicklas Jensen (29th overall in 2011). Dane Fox, who led the Ontario Hockey League in goals (64) and ranked second in points (107) in 2013.14, will also attend the event alongside two players, Frank Corrado and Mike Zalewski, who spent time on the Canucks roster last season.

The Calgary Flames roster includes three first round draft picks: Sam Bennett (4th overall in 2014), Emile Poirier (22nd overall in 2013) and Morgan Klimchuk (28th overall in 2013). In addition, Mason McDonald, the 34th overall pick and first goalie to be drafted in the 2014 NHL Entry Draft has been named to the roster. John Gaudreau, winner of the 2014 Hobey Baker Award, will also be in attendance.

The Edmonton Oilers roster will include Leon Draisaitl (selected 3rd overall in 2014), Darnell Nurse (selected 7th overall in 2013), Mitch Moroz (selected 32nd overall in 2012) and David Musil (selected 31st overall 2011). Laurent Brossoit, who was named to the ECHL All-Rookie Team and ECHL 2nd All-Star Team following the 2013.14 season, will also attend the event.

The Winnipeg Jets roster includes two first round picks: Nikolaj Ehlers (9th overall in 2014) and Josh Morrissey (13th overall in 2013). The list also includes Nic Petan and J.C. Lipon, who represented Canada at the World Junior Championships in 2014 and 2013, respectively. Ryan Olsen, who collected 73 points in 2013.14 with the Kelowna Rockets, has been named to the tournament. Scott Kosmachuk, who collected 101 points and appeared in the Memorial Cup final with the Guelph Storm and 2014 NCAA Goalie of the Year Connor Hellebuyck will appear at the Young Stars Classic.