2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ and Calgary Stampede

0
118
cbc

July 12,2014(ISN) – It’s another big weekend of sports coverage on CBC with the final games from 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ and the final weekend of the  2014 Calgary Stampede presented by GMC.

Coverage begins Saturday afternoon live at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) with the Third Place game from Brazil between the host nation and the Netherlands. Both teams will be looking to shake off their semifinal losses and claim one last victory in the month-long tournament. Live coverage will be available on CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca and through CBC’s FIFA World Cup™ App brought to you by Bell for iOS and Android.

Sports coverage on Saturday continues with Wild Card Saturday at the Calgary Stampede beginning at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) on CBCSports.ca. Wild Card Saturday coverage continues at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT) followed by the Rangeland Derby and Wild Card Saturday Wrap at 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT). Ron MacLean will host the Stampede coverage on Saturday which will include coverage of the final rodeo events before Championship Sunday with 12 competitors vying for the final four spots. Also on Saturday, MacLean will have a live chat with 2014 Canadian Rodeo Hall of Fame inductee Lee Laskosky.

Sunday sees the culmination of these major international sporting events. First up is the FIFA World Cup™ championship game between Germany and Argentina. Live coverage begins on CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca and the mobile app at 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT). The Germans will be looking for their fourth championship and first since 1990, while Lionel Messi will try to lead Argentina to its third World Cup™ title.

Showdown Sunday coverage from the Calgary Stampede begins at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) at CBCSports.ca and continues on CBC-TV at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT) followed by the Calgary Stampede Championship at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT). Sunday’s coverage with host Ron MacLean will open with Paul Brandt performing his iconic tune “Alberta Bound” on the Stampede midway grounds and will also include features with: Flint Rasumussen, one of the most famous rodeo clowns or “barrel men” in all of bull riding; Scott Byrne, the dean of bull fighting making his 12th appearance at the Stampede in 2014; an interview by Melissa Hollingsworth with the RCMP musical ride instructor; and bareback rider Spur Lacasse, born and raised in Quebec now living in Alberta with aspirations of becoming the greatest bareback rider ever.

It’s a full weekend of marquee sports coverage on CBC. Viewers can engage with the broadcasts by following @cbcsports and using #CBCWorldCup and #stampede2014.

Saturday, July 12

  • 3:30 p.m.  ET (12:30 p.m. PT) – FIFA World Cup™: Netherlands vs. Brazil (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) – Calgary Stampede: Wild Card Saturday  (CBCSports.ca)
  • 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT) – Calgary Stampede: Wild Card Saturday (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT) – Calgary Stampede: Rangeland Derby and Wild Card Saturday Wrap (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • Sunday, July 13

  • 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT) – FIFA World Cup™: Germany vs. Argentina (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT) – Calgary Stampede: Showdown Sunday (CBCSports.ca)
  • 6 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. PT) – Calgary Stampede: Showdown Sunday (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT) – Calgary Stampede: Calgary Stampede Championship (CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca)
  • LEAVE A REPLY