July 15,2014(ISN) – VICTORIA, B.C. – The Victoria HarbourCats are pleased to announce that three members of the 2014 team – one pitcher, two position players – will take to the field in the 2014 West Coast League All-Star Game, slated for next Monday (July 21) in Klamath Falls, Oregon.

Nanaimo product and right-handed pitcher Alex Rogers, shortstop Alex DeGoti and first baseman Gabe Clark are among 42 players who will take part in the showcase event. Clark was named through the team’s fan vote, while Rogers and DeGoti were selected by a vote of coaches around the league.

“We’re proud of all three of them, and we know they will represent us well,” said General Manager Jim Swanson. “We had so many strong candidates, such as Hunter Mercado-Hood, Nathan Lukes, Mikey Wright and Logan Lombana, just to name a few. Griffin Andreychuk, Sean Watkins, Aaron Barnett and Wyler Smith could also be going. But this is a great league with elite players and it has to be an honour just to be considered.”

Other players could be named in case of injury.

Also representing the HarbourCats at the All-Star Game will be President John McLean and General Manager Jim Swanson, who will take part in meetings and special events. The festivities will feature a scouting combine, a home run derby, and the feature game. Last year, the HarbourCats played host and the game was a complete success, setting the bar high for future events.

Division-leading teams saw a larger number of players selected to rosters – as is usually the case, team success brings more in the way of individual accolades.

In 26 games, DeGoti is batting .314 with 18 RBIs and tied for the team lead in home runs with three. Clark, also with three home runs, is batting .324 with 14 runs driven in, having joined the team late after his playoff run with Oregon State. Rogers, originally signed as a 10-day contract player, has a 2-2 record and 2.38 ERA, in five starts and 34 innings, giving up just 25 hits and walking seven.

Here are the two All-Star Game teams:

North                                                                                      South 

Jake Roberts – YAK – C


Tanner Lubach – MED – C

Jarod Gonzales – WW – 1B


Kevin Kline – CORV – 1B

Scott Heath – BELL – 1B


Victor Garcia – MED – 1B

Gabe Clark – VIC – 1B


Cory VanDomele – COW – 2B

Shawn Wardian – YAK – 1B


Marc Gallegos – CORV – 2B

Caleb Wood – WEN 2B


Dennis Morton – KF – 3B

Ty Jackson – WEN – 3B


Nick Lopez – BEND – SS

Sean Bouchard – WW – 3B


Jake Peevyhouse – BEND – OF

Alex DeGoti  – VIC – SS


Spencer Smith – MED – OF

Vince Fernandez – YAK – OF


Steven Packard – KT – OF

Scotland Church – KELN – OF


Danny Woodrow – KITS – OF

Andrew Mendenhall – WW – OF


Billy Sahlinger – COW – P

Danny Miller – BELL – OF


Joe Reta – COW – P

Zach Johnson – BELL – P


Chris Haddeland – CORV – P

Dan Ludwig – BELL – P


Jackson Lockwood – CORV – P

David Bigelow – BELL – P


Nathan Kuchta – MED – P

Ian Buckles – WEN P


David Peterson – MED – P

Eli Morgan – YAK – P


Kevin Sheets – BEND – P

Brandon Williams – YAK – P


Josh Moss – KITS – P

Seth Martinez- BELL – P


Brandon Choate – CORV – P

Alex Rogers – VIC – P


Shane Bieber – COW – P