Field announced for next weeks RBC Canadian Open

RBC Candian Open


*Image credit: Golf Canada

July 19th, 2914 – Montreal, Quebec ( – Golf Canada and RBC announced today the final field of competitors set to challenge for the $5.7 million (USD) RBC Canadian Open, July 21-27 at The Royal Montreal Golf Club.

rbc-canadian-open-webDefending champion Brandt Snedeker will be challenged by a world class field of PGA TOUR stars that includes World No. 5 Matt Kuchar, World No. 16 Dustin Johnson, World No. 17 Graeme McDowell, World No. 18 and two-time Canadian Open champion Jim Furyk, World No. 20 Luke Donald, World No. 26 Charl Schwartzel, World No. 46 Hunter Mahan and World No. 58 Ernie Els.

The field of players will also include eleven past champions who will challenge for Canada’s National Open title including SnedekerScott Piercy (2012), Sean O’Hair (2011), Carl Pettersson (2010), Nathan Green(2009), Jim Furyk (2006 & 2007), Mark Calcavecchia (2005), Vijay Singh (2004), John Rollins (2002), Billy Andrade (1998) and Dudley Hart (1996).

In all, 156 players will compete for the $5.7 million USD purse next week in Montreal when Canada’s National Open Championship returns to The Royal Montreal Golf Club for the 10th time.

The RBC Canadian Open will once again feature a strong international contingent as 16 countries will be represented including the United States, Scotland, Argentina, Brazil, India, Ireland, New Zealand, South Korea, Venezuela, South Africa, Fiji, Sweden, Australia, England, Colombia and Canada.

15 Canadians set to vie for Canada’s National Open Title
Leading the charge for the Canadian contingent are PGA TOUR players Graham DeLaet of Weyburn, Sask.,David Hearn of Brantford, Ont., Brad Fritsch of Manotick, Ont., Stephen Ames of Calgary and Mike Weir of Bright’s Grove, Ont. Other Canadians set to compete include the Tour’s Adam Hadwin of Abbotsford, B.C. who won the 2014 Tour’s Chile Classic as well as fellow Tour player Nick Taylor of Abbottsford, B.C. who was offered an exemption. In addition, recently crowned 2014 PGA Championship of Canada winner Dave Levesque of Montreal and PGA of Canada Player Rankings leader Billy Walsh of Markham, Ont. will also join the field alongside the 2013 Canadian Men’s Mid-Amateur champion, Kevin Carrigan of Victoria. PGA TOUR Canada’s Michael Gligic of Burlington, Ont. and Beon Yeong Lee of Montreal are also set to compete after winning the their regional qualifying sites. Additionally, Team Canada’s Taylor Pendrith of Richmond Hill, Ont., Corey Conners of Listowel, Ont. and Adam Svensson of Surrey, B.C. earned exemptions into Canada’s National Open Championship.

“The field is set and we’re ready to kick off the 105th playing of Canada’s National Open Championship,” said Bill Paul, Tournament Director of the RBC Canadian Open. “The golf course is in tremendous shape and ready to challenge the world’s best golfers for the 10th time. Our team of nearly 1,500 volunteers is ready and there is no doubt that Canadian golf fans will be treated to a terrific showcase next week at The Royal Montreal Golf Club.”

Three additional exemptions will be confirmed on Sunday evening following the conclusion of PGA TOUR Canada’s Stall Foundation Open in Thunder Bay, Ont. The top three players on the PGA TOUR Canada Order of Merit at the conclusion of the Stall Foundation Open will earn an exemption into the RBC Canadian Open.

The final four exemptions into the field for the 2014 RBC Canadian Open will be handed out at the Final Qualifier on Monday, July 22 at Golf Saint-Raphaël in L’Île-Bizard, Que.

The following is a list of players set to compete in the 2014 RBC Canadian Open, July 21-27 at The Royal Montreal Golf Club:
Thomas Aiken
Robert Allenby
Benjamin Alvarado
Stephen Ames (CDN)
Billy Andrade
Stuart Appleby
Alex Aragon
Woody Austin
Aaron Baddeley
Sang-Moon Bae
Ricky Barnes
Charlie Beljan
Matt Bettencourt
Jason Bohn
Justin Bolli
Scott Brown
Jonathan Byrd
Mark Calcavecchia
Chad Campbell
Miguel Angel Carballo
* Kevin Carrigan (CDN)
Roberto Castro
Bud Cauley
Greg Chalmers
Kevin Chappell
K.J. Choi
Daniel Chopra
Stewart Cink
Tim Clark
* Eli Cole
Chad Collins
Erik Compton
* Corey Conners (CDN)
Ben Crane
Ben Curtis
John Daly
Brian Davis
Graham DeLaet (CDN)
Luke Donald
James Driscoll
Ken Duke
Joe Durant
Ernie Els
Derek Ernst
Gonzalo Fdez-Castano
Martin Flores
Kevin Foley
Brad Fritsch (CDN)
Jim Furyk
Tommy Gainey
Scott Gardiner
Brice Garnett
Robert Garrigus
Brian Gay
Michael Gligic (CDN)
Lucas Glover
Retief Goosen
Nathan Green
Luke Guthrie
Adam Hadwin (CDN)
James Hahn
Dudley Hart
David Hearn (CDN)
J.J. Henry
Jim Herman
Justin Hicks
Charley Hoffman
Morgan Hoffmann
John Huh
Trevor Immelman
Dustin Johnson
Matt Jones
Jerry Kelly
Kevin Kisner
Russell Knox
Ben Kohles
Matt Kuchar
Bronson La’Cassie
Doug LaBelle II
Martin Laird
Beon Yeong Lee (CDN)
D.H. Lee
Danny Lee
Richard H. Lee
Justin Leonard
Dave Levesque (CDN)
David Lingmerth
Edward Loar
Andrew Loupe
Jamie Lovemark
Jeff Maggert
Hunter Mahan
Peter Malnati
Steve Marino
Troy Matteson
Scott McCarron
Graeme McDowell
William McGirt
John Merrick
Troy Merritt
Bryce Molder
Seung-Yul Noh
Sean O’Hair
Geoff Ogilvy
Jeff Overton
* Taylor Pendrith (CDN)
Pat Perez
John Peterson
Carl Pettersson
Scott Piercy
D.A. Points
Ted Potter, Jr.
Dicky Pride
Alex Prugh
Michael Putnam
Jim Renner
Tag Ridings
Wes Roach
Patrick Rodgers
John Rollins
Andres Romero
Charl Schwartzel
Vijay Singh
Heath Slocum
Brandt Snedeker
Kyle Stanley
Robert Streb
* Adam Svensson (CDN)
Andrew Svoboda
Hudson Swafford
Nick Taylor (CDN)
Josh Teater
Nicholas Thompson
Kevin Tway
Tyrone Van Aswegen
Bo Van Pelt
Jhonattan Vegas
Camilo Villegas
Johnson Wagner
Bill Q. Walsh (CDN)
Nick Watney
Mike Weir (CDN)
Charlie Wi
Will Wilcox
Tim Wilkinson
Mark Wilson
Y.E. Yang

* Denotes amateur
(CDN) Denotes Canadians