July 21,2014(ISN) – The sun set in Mexico City on a Canadian team glimmering in splendid Mexican silver,
ending the final day of racing at the Pan American Sports Festival.

Kerry Shaffer started the podium trend in the women’s single sculls. Shaffer
implemented a strong and controlled race plan, despite an early breakaway of fast
starters, to finish second.

The duo of Mike Evans and David Lariviere were next in the men’s pair. In a
competitive field, Evans and Lariviere finished fourth despite a strong finish,
almost overtaking Argentina at the end.

Canada quickly returned to the podium though, claiming another silver medal. The
men’s quadruple sculls of Alex Janzen, Ben Murphy, Andrew Stewart-Jones and Paul
Thiessen rowed a gutsy race, leading the field at the all three markers, only to be
overtaken at the line by Cuba. The top three finishers were all within two seconds
of each other.

Teresa Berkholtz, after claiming silver the previous day in the women’s double with
Ricki Baxter, was again in action in the lightweight women’s single. Battling a
crosshead wind, Berkholtz rowed a brilliant race in challenging conditions to take

However It was once again silver for the Canadians rowers as the regatta came to a
close with the final races of the day, the women’s quadruple sculls and the men’s

The crew of Sarah Black, Alyssa Weninger, Jody Schuurman and Kerry Shaffer
werepushed hard by Cuba, especially in the last five strokes, but the Canadian women
were able to hold off the challenge and secure second.

The men’s eight of Mike Evans, Ben Murphy, Alex Janzen, Andrew Stewart-Jones, Paul
Thiessen, David Lariviere, Mark Henry, Taylor Pluzak and coxswain Ricki Baxter
contested a tough race. After a bad start, they worked their way through the field
to challenge Cuba, the race leaders. They were unable to overtake them in the final
strokes however and had to settle for second.

The team will say “HASTA LA VISTA” to Mexico tomorrow as they return to Canada with
a suitcase full of medals. Congratulations to all the crews and to coaches John
Wetzstein and Pete Somerwil.