FIVB World League 640x359

(ISN) – JULY 21, 2014: The 2014 edition of FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix, the premier
annual women’s international volleyball tournament, kicks off this week, with Canada
sending a team after a more than 10-year absence.

“The team is excited to be a part of Grand Prix this year and gain the valuable
experience that playing in this tournament will provide,” said Canada’s head coach
Arnd Ludwig. “We are looking forward to representing Canada well on the
international stage.”

Canada last competed in the Grand Prix in 2003, finishing in 11th place.

Canada’s first game is in Lima, Peru, on July 25, when the team plays the host
country; followed by a game against Poland the next day, and Belgium on the 27th.
The full schedule is at Canada is in Pool J.

“We need to get experience in games on a high level. Participating in the Grand Prix
gives us exactly that opportunity: playing against top teams for at least three
weekends in a row,” explained Ludwig. “It is a very good preparation for the World
Championship in Italy this fall, and it is even more important for the development
of the program in the next four to 10 years.”

Canada already qualified for the World Championships earlier this year as a result
of winning the NORCECA qualifier in Mississauga.

For Grand Prix, the 28 participating countries have been split across 19 pools with
12 – defending champions and world No. 1 Brazil, USA, Japan, China, Russia, Italy,
Serbia, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Korea, Turkey and Thailand – playing in
Pools A to I while eight – Poland, Peru, Puerto Rico, the Netherlands, Argentina,
Canada, Cuba and Belgium – are in Pools J to O. Pools P to S also includes eight
teams: Kenya, Algeria, Kazakhstan, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Mexico, Bulgaria and

Canadian games will be broadcast on Sportsnet ONE; schedule to be confirmed and
check your local listings.

Canada’s Grand Prix Roster

Outside hitters:
Tabi Love: Dauphin, MB
Lisa Barclay: Brandon, MB
Brittney Page (Captain): Vernon, BC
Kyla Richey: Robert’s Creek, BC
Shanice Marcelle: Victoria, BC
Marie-Pier Murray-Methot: Baie-Comeau, QC
Dana Cranston: Fort St. John, BC

Lucy Charuk: Tsawwassen, BC
Becky Pavan: Kitchener, ON
Jaimie Thibeault: Sylvan Lake, AB
Marisa Field: Kelowna, BC

Jennifer Lundquist: Surrey, BC
Megan Cyr: St Andrews, MB

Janie Guimond: Becancour, QC
Tesca Andrew-Wasylik, Unionville, ON (joining the team later due to medical reasons)