*Image credit: British Columbia Golf

July 22nd, 2014 – Christina Lake, British Columbia (VIGolf.ca) – John Russell shot a 5-under-par 67 in his opening round at the British Columbia Golf Senior and Super-Senior Men’s Championships on Tuesday on a rainy day at Christina Lake Golf and Country Club to lead the field.

Russell was already cultivating a lead at three-under at the turn; and finished with only a single fault on his scorecard, a bogey on number 16, the course’s shortest hole. Russell is one of five non-BC residents competing in the event.

The Chestermere, Alberta resident sits a single stroke ahead of former champions Doug Roxburgh and Gudmund Lindbjerg who are currently tied for second at -4. Defending champion, Roxburgh, and four-time back-to-back champion, Lindbjerg shot 68 on day one each carding five birdies and one bogey.

Lance Lundy, of Pemberton, follows close behind after shooting a three-under-par 69 including back-to-back birdies on numbers 15 and 16, while four players are tied for fifth; Jim Shaw, John Gallacher, William MacPherson and Jeff Omland all shot -2 (70).

Nine players finished under par with seven players within three strokes of first place. A single hole-in-one early in the morning by Murray McAllindon, of Victoria, highlighted the day.

McAllindon hit a 7 iron 158 yards on number 16 for his third-ever hole-in-one, his first in competition.

“When it was in the air I said, ‘I can’t hit it any better than that’, and when it landed there was a scorer up by the green, he said it bounced twice and rolled a few feet into the hole,” explained McAllindon.

The Gorge Vale golfer almost didn’t participate in the Championship stating that he had been playing so poorly as of late that he almost withdrew, he went on to say that this was by far his best round of the year.

The only hometown golfer, John Dedels of Christina Lake, is T20 at +1.

Super-Senior Championship

Lindbjerg leads the Super-Senior Championship, for competitors 65 years of age and older, by five strokes over Kent Brown of Colville, WA., Ray Henry of Victoria, Rick Weihe of Bellingham, WA., and last year’s Super-Senior champion Tony Hatchwell of Nanaimo, who are all tied at +1 (73) for second.

Zone Team Championship

Prior to the start of competition, zones selected four-man teams to represent them, the low three of four scores make up the team score for the day. Zone Four leads the team Championship with a one-under-par 215. John Gallacher, Ryan Sitter, David Miller and Brian Graham combined for two eagles and six birdies. Zone Two finished five-over-par, followed by Zone Six with at 9-over.