Banquet celebrates FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014


A special banquet ahead of the opening matches of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 took place in Montréal on Sunday 3 August. The banquet featured delegates from both FIFA and the National Organising Committee. The evening featured a gift exchange between FIFA President Joseph Blatter and Canadian Soccer Association President Victor Montagliani.

Members of the Organising Committee for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 are led by Chairman David Chung (Papua New Guinea) and Deputy Chairwoman Lydia Nsekera (Burundi). Other members are Sonia Bien Aime (TCI), April Heinrichs (USA), Marina Sbardella (ITA), Heike Ullrich (GER), Celina Sierra (COL), Mahfuza Akhter (BAN), Palmira Francisco (MOZ), Fran Hilton Smith (RSA), Shelley McMeeken (NZL), and Eun Ah Hong (KOR).

Members of the National Organising Committee were all in attendance, including Mr. Montagliani who serves as Chair. The National Organising Committtee also features Steven Reed, Janine Helland, Doug Redmond, Clare Rustad, Walter Sieber and Peter Montopoli.

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 runs 5-24 August in four Canadian cities: Edmonton (Alberta), Toronto (Ontario), Montréal (Québec) and Moncton (New Brunswick). This marks the fourth time a FIFA final competition has been played in Canada (1987, 2002, 2007 and 2014). Next year, the finals for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 will be played from 6 June to 5 July in six Canadian cities.

For more information on the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Canada 2014 – including news and ticketing information – please visit

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!