Ontario Blues head coach Chris Silverthorn has named his starting lineup

Ontario blues

Aug 16,2014(ISN) – Ontario Blues head coach Chris Silverthorn has named his starting lineup for Saturday’s clash against the Atlantic Rock in their Canadian Rugby Championship season opener at Ottawa’s Twin Elm Rugby Park.

Similar to lineups he selected in preseason matches, Silverthorn has chosen to start a mixture of veterans and up-and-coming talent, naming a side that is very comparable to the one that defeated USA Rugby’s Collegiate All-Americans in late June.

In the front row, the Canadian international duo of prop Tom Dolezel and hooker Ray Barkwill will be joined by Balmy Beach prop Jacob Rumball.

The second row will be manned by the Balmy Beach tandem of Scott Dunham and Hank McQueen, while the back row will feature London St. George’s Seb Pearson at Number 8, alongside two flankers with recent international experience: Canada U20 standout Lucas Rumball and the Canada ‘A’-capped Alistair Clark.

In the backs, Oakville Crusaders’ Andrew Ferguson and Stoney Creek’s Shawn Windsor will once again start at scrum half and fly half, respectively. Internationally-capped captain Derek Daypuck and Canada Sevens back Jordan Wilson-Ross will start as centres, while the back three will be made up of Balmy Beach’s Dan Moor, recent Canadian National Sevens debutant Jake Webster, and Canada Maple Leafs Sevens’ teenage fullback Andrew Coe.

Ontario will have a wealth of veteran forward experience on the bench: substitutes include the Lindsay RFC front row duo of Doug Wooldridge and Rob Brouwer, Canada U20 hooker Sawyer Herron, Balmy Beach’s Haddon Murray in the second row, and Toronto Scottish’s versatile Pat Richardson in the back row.

Backs substitutes include Waterloo County’s Rich Lebel, Markham Irish’s Dave Worsley and London St. George’s Josh Campbell.

Tickets for the match can be purchased at the gate at Twin Elm Rugby Park (4075 Twin Elm Road, South Nepean, Ont., K0A 2Z0), with VIP Seating tickets selling for $25, and General Admission tickets at $10.

Ontario Blues Squad vs. Atlantic Rock – Name (Club)

1. Jacob Rumball (Balmy Beach)
2. Ray Barkwill (Niagara Wasps)
3. Tom Dolezel (London St. George’s)
4. Hank McQueen (Balmy Beach)
5. Scott Dunham (Balmy Beach)
6. Lucas Rumball (Balmy Beach)
7. Alistair Clark (Bay Street RFC)
8. Seb Pearson (London St. George’s)
9. Andrew Ferguson (Oakville Crusaders)
10. Shawn Windsor (Stoney Creek)
11. Dan Moor (Balmy Beach)
12. Derek Daypuck (London St. George’s), Captain
13. Jordan Wilson-Ross (Barrie RFC)
14. Jake Webster (Lindsay RFC)
15. Andrew Coe (Markham Irish)
16. Sawyer Herron (Oakville Crusaders)
17. Rob Brouwer (Lindsay RFC)
18. Doug Wooldridge (Lindsay RFC)
19. Haddon Murray (Balmy Beach)
20. Pat Richardson (Toronto Scottish)
21. Rich Lebel (Waterloo County)
22. Dave Worsley (Markham Irish)
23. Josh Campbell (London St. George’s)

Ontario Blues Team Staff
Chris Silverthorn – Head Coach
Paul Connelly – Assistant Coach
Paul Ambrose – Scrum Coach
Mark Winokur – Manager
Rodin Lozada – Performance Analyst
Chris Kelly – Athletic Therapist
Dr. Chris Gallimore – Team Doctor

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!