Field set for Canadian Women’s Open

640px-2013 Womens British Open Charley Hull 5

August, 19th,2014 – London, Onatrio ( – Golf Canada in partnership with Canadian Pacific announced today the field of competitors set to challenge for the 2014 Canadian Pacific Women’s Open, August 18-24 at the London Hunt and Country Club in London, Ont.

In all, the 156 player field at London Hunt will feature nine of the top 10 players as well as 48 of the top 50 players and 96 of the top 100 on the current LPGA Tour Official Money List.

Two-time defending champion Lydia Ko headlines a field that includes LPGA stars Stacy Lewis, Inbee Park, Anna Nordqvist, Lexi Thompson, Suzann Pettersen, Paula Creamer, Cristie Kerr, Karrie Webb, Morgan Pressel, Ai Miyazato, Azahara Munoz, Brittany Lincicome, Shanshan Feng, So Yeon Ryu, Angela Stanfordand Jessica Korda.

Other notables competing on exemptions include Team Canada members Brooke Henderson of Smiths Falls, Ont. and Jennifer Ha of Calgary as well European rising stars Charley Hull and Stephanie Meadow.

“We’re going to welcome one of the strongest fields on the LPGA Tour and together with our partners at Canadian Pacific, we are expecting the world’s best professional and amateur golfers to challenge for Canada’s National Women’s Open title,” said Canadian Pacific Women’s Open Tournament Director Brent McLaughlin.

The winner’s share of the $2.25 million USD purse for the 2014 Canadian Pacific Women’s Open will be $337,500 USD.

A full field list of players set to challenge for the Canadian Pacific Women’s Open can be found by clicking here.

Eight Past Champions to Compete at London Hunt:
Eight of the event’s former champions will be competing at London Hunt including 17-year old two time defending champion Lydia KoBrittany Lincicome (2011); Suzann Pettersen (2009); Katherine Hull-Kirk(2008); Cristie Kerr (2006); Meena Lee (2005); Karrie Webb (1999); and Laura Davies (1996).  Former champion and money list no. 2 Michelle Wie was forced to withdraw this past weekend with a hand injury.


14 Canadians including two Team Canada Members in the Field:
The current field includes 14 Canadians looking to become the first Canadian to win a LPGA Tour event on home soil since Canadian golf legend Jocelyne Bourassa’s historic victory in 1973 at La Canadienne Golf Championship. Leading the charge are LPGA Tour players Lorie Kane of Charlottetown, P.E.I., Alena Sharp of Hamilton, Ont., Rebecca Lee-Bentham of Richmond Hill, Ont., Jennifer Kirby of Paris, Ont. and Sue Kim of Langley, B.C. Other Canadian hopefuls include Maude-Aimee LeBlanc of Sherbrooke, Que., Sara-Maude Juneau of Fossambault, Que. Samantha Richdale of Kelowna, B.C., Nicole Vandermade of Brantford, Ont.,Natalie Gleadall of Stratford, Ont., Erica Rivard of Tecumseh, Ont., and Jessica Wallace of Langley, B.C. Two members of Team Canada will also challenge the world’s best golfers including National Amateur Squad members Brooke Henderson of Smiths Falls, Ont., and Jennifer Ha of Calgary.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!