Vikes connections help Canada win historic World Cup second place

UVIC only logo

Aug. 19,2014(ISN) – Canada’s women’s rugby team finishes best-ever second place at 2014 World Cup
with files from Rugby Canada

Canada’s women’s rugby team may have ended their 2014 World Cup with a loss but the
best-ever second-place finish puts Canada in the history books. Several University
of Victoria connections helped the team make it to the finals, where Canada fell
21-9 to a tough England team at Stade Jean Bouin in Paris on Aug. 17. Gary Dukelow,
member of the 2007 UVic Sports Hall of Fame class, was on site in France as the
team’s forwards coach, while former Vikes Brittany Waters and Jessica Dovane were
members of the team.

Dukelow has been heavily involved with Rugby Canada since his playing career
retirement. The 1981 UVic President’s Cup winner was a member of the Canadian Senior
men’s naitonal team and was pivotal in Canada’s advancement to the 1991 World cup

Waters and Dovanne were team mates with the UVic Vikes women’s rugby varsity
program. Waters competed for five seasons beginning in 2001 and ending in 2005,
while Dovanne competed in the 2005 and 2006 seasons.

Canada’s historic run at the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup has come to an end
following a 21–9 loss to England at Stade Jean Bouin tonight in downtown Paris to
finish second in the World. Also making headlines, Canada winger Magali Harvey took
home the 2014 IRB Women’s Rugby Player of the Year honours after the game.

Despite the defeat, Canada will head home with their heads held high knowing they
were the first team in Canadian rugby history to make a World Cup final. Canada
controlled much of the possession in the opening 10 minutes, but it was England who
scored the first points of the match as Emily Scarratt’s penalty kick agve them a
3-0 lead.

After Scarratt notched her second kick of the match, England found an overlap out
wide, using quick hands to get the ball outside where Danielle Waterman scored the
first try of the match to give England an 11-0 lead. The score may have been more
lopsided if not for two try-saving tackles from Canada’s Karen Paquin.

Canada were rewarded with their hard play in the final seconds of the half as IRB
Women’s Player of the Year Magali Harvey split the posts on a penlaty kick to draw
Canada within eight points at the break. Just four minutes into the second half, a
penalty to England gave Harvey another chance to go for posts and once again her
attempt was successful.

Harvey’s third penalty kick of the match brought Canada to within two points as they
entered the final quarter of the match. However, off the restart a penalty to Canada
gave Scarratt another opportunity at posts and the tournament’s top point scorer
gave England a 14-9 lead.

While Canada held possession, they were unable to find a breakthrough in the English
defence. Harvey, who has impressed throughout the tournament with her speed was
unable to find any open space for much of the match.

With Canada pressing in the final minutes, Scarratt broke three Canadian tackles to
seal the win with a converted try. Canada would finish the 12-team tournament in
their best-ever second place.

Canada Points:

Penalties: Magali Harvey x3

England Points:

Penalties: Emily Scarratt x3

Tries: Danielle Waterman, Emily Scarratt

Conversions: Emily Scarratt

Canada’s Women’s Rosteron August 17:

1. Marie-Pier Pinault-Reid, (Club de Rugby Quebec) Quebec City, QC
2. Kim Donaldson, (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club) Toronto, ON
3. Hilary Leith, (Capilano RFC) North Vancouver, BC
4. Latoya Blackwood, (St. Anne de Bellevue) Montreal, QC
5. Maria Samson, (Calgary Hornets) Calgary, AB
6. Jacey Murphy, (Aurora Barbarians) Alliston, ON
7. Karen Paquin, (Club de Rugby Quebec) Quebec City, QC
8. Kelly Russell, Captain (Toronto Nomads) Bolton, ON
9. Elissa Alarie, (Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue Rugby Club) Trois-Rivieres, QC
10. Emily Belchos, (Markham Irish RFC) Barrie, ON
11. Jessica Dovanne, (Velox RFC) Victoria, BC
12. Andrea Burk, (Capilano RFC) North Vancouver, BC
13. Mandy Marchak, (Capilano RFC) Winnipeg, MB
14. Magali Harvey, (Club de Rugby Quebec) Quebec City, QC
15. Julianne Zussman, (Town of Mount Royal RFC) Montreal, QC
16. Laura Russell, (Toronto Nomads) Bolton, ON
17. Olivia DeMerchant, (Woodstock Wildmen) Mapledale, NB
18. Mary-Jane Kirby, (Highland RFC) Brampton, ON
19. Tyson Beukeboom, (Aurora Barbarians) Uxbridge, ON
20. Kayla Mack, (Wild Oats RFC) Saskatoon, SK
21. Julia Sugawara, (Burnaby Lake RFC) Surrey, BC
22. Brittany Waters, (Meraloma Athletic Club) Vancouver, BC

Non-Dressing Players:

Stephanie Bernier, (Club de Rugby Quebec) Quebec City, Quebec – Injured
Brittany Benn, (Guelph Redcoats) Napanee, ON
Cindy Nelles, (Oakville Crusaders/McMaster University) Belleville, ON
Amanda Thornborough, (Brandon Barbarians RFC) Brandon, MB

Canada’s Women’s Team Staff:

Head Coach: Francois Ratier
Forwards Coach: Gary Dukelow
Backs Coach: Colette McAuley
Strength and Conditioning: Steve Mackinnon
Physiotherapist: Adrienne Stinson
Manager: Meaghan Howat
Analyst: James Kent
Media Manager: Bryan Kelly

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!