2014-15 National Halfpipe Team Athletes and Coaches Announced


Aug 22,2014(ISN) – Vancouver, B.C. – Canada Snowboard is pleased to announce the athletes named to the 2014-15 High Performance Program who will join the Halfpipe National Team. Five of the six athletes are former Olympians, three of whom made their debut in Sochi this past winter. Long standing national team athletes and three time Olympians Brad Martin and Mercedes Nicoll are looking forward to leading their teammates to the upcoming 2015 FIS World Championships in Kreischberg, Austria this coming January.

The newly appointed coaches for the Halfpipe National team are Ben Boyd and Elijah Teter. Ben brings with him 17 years of coaching experience and Elijah is a former professional Halfpipe athlete. Both Ben and Elijah have a great deal of experience working with elite Halfpipe athletes. We are very excited for them to bring their coaching techniques and knowledge to our Halfpipe National Team.

“We are very excited to reveal the names of the athletes and coaching staff selected for the 2015 Halfpipe Team. We have been working closely with the athletes to find the best solution for the season for their training and competition opportunities and we believe that this will be the best fit for them” stated Robert Joncas, High Performance Director.

The first major event on the FIS Calendar for the Halfpipe national team is the Copper Mountain World Cup, which will take place in Copper, Colorado from December 6-7, 2014.

The athletes named to the Halfpipe national team are:

Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler, B.C.)
Alexandra Duckworth (Kingsburg, N.S.)
Calynn Iriwn (Toronto, Ont.)
Katie Tsuyuki (Toronto, Ont.)
Brad Martin (Ancaster, Ont.)
Derek Livingston (Aurora, Ont.)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!