Weintraub wins Hugh Carbery Pro-Am at Uplands


*Image credit: Glenn Bell/Vancouver Island Professional Tour

August 28th, 2014, Victoria, British Columbia (VIGolf.ca) – The eleventh event of 2014 toothguy.ca VI Pro Tour was played Tuesday, August 25th at the Uplands Golf Club with the playing of the Hugh Carbery Pro-Am in support of the Victoria Hospice. The 24 professionals and 120 amateurs in the field were treated to a very challenging golf course in outstanding condition on a perfect day.

To fill the field there were a few elite amateurs and former professionals to take the place of the eligible professionals taking part in the PGA of British Columbia Championship. The format for the day was a Stableford event with each team of five scoring the best two net balls, while the professionals also scored their own Stableford points.

In the Pro Competition, it was Isaac Weintraub from Nanaimo claimed the victory and finished with 40 points.

“I haven’t been playing a lot of golf lately, so my golf game hasn’t been up to my standards, but it was nice to get some birdies down the stretch to allow me to win. If where my game is right now, I just wanted to go out there and play golf and it just so happened that I made some birdies.” said Weintraub who as of late has been focusing on his turf grass management studies.

“The Golf course is always a treat to play on, and Brian Youell and his team always have the course in immaculate shape”.

Jim Goddard was the low PGA of BC member finishing with 39 points, which equates to a 3 under par 67. Finishing in a three-way tie for third were Tim Stuart, Brian Rands, and Eric Wang each amassing 37 points. In sixth alone was Ben Griffin with 36 points; Old Man Par. In seventh there was another three-way tie with Ian Stone, Derek Senft, and Terrance Drader all accumulating 35 points. Matt Matheson finished in tenth place with 34 points, and the Don Billsborough rounded out the top eleven with 32 points. In the team competition, Jim Goddard’s team narrowly outpaced Ian Stone’s team accumulating an outstanding 98 Stableford points to Team Stone’s 97 points.

Official Results (points represent Stableford scoring)

Isaac Weintraub 40
Jim Goddard 39
Tim Stuart 37
Brian Rands 37
Eric Wang 37
Ben Griffin 36
Ian Stone 35
Derek Senft 35
Terrance Drader 35
Matt Matheson 34
Don Billsborough 32
Doug Brown 31
Muhammed Khan 31
Bruce Rands 31
Brian Hann 31
Justin Clews 31
Adam Novasad 30
Dave Maddock 30
Mac McLeod 28
Todd Mahovlich 28
Robin Hutchinson 27
Aaron Grice 26
Norm Jackson 26
Alex Cordero 25

Team Goddard – Jeff Loukes, Brent Carbery,
Jeff Adams, Dennis Fedoruk 98

Team Stone – Doug Milne, Ian Rogers,
Gerry Shelton, Mitch Couch 97

Team Rands – Terry Caird, Brian Youell, Don
Lindsay, Keith Barwick 95

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!