Committee names 41 teams, five individuals for DIII men’s golf champ.


INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

The championships will be held May 13-16, at Grandover Resort, in Greensboro, North Carolina. The championships will be hosted by Guilford and the Greensboro Sports Commission.

A total of 210 participants will compete at the 2014 championships.

Thirty-one conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

The Texas-Tyler defeated Transylvania to claim its second national title in school history at the 2013 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf National Championships. Brad Shigezawa, of Claremont-M-S, took home the top individual honors after four days of consistent play. The championships were played at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, in Destin, Florida, and was hosted by Methodist.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2014 championships:

Conferences and teams receiving automatic qualification (31):
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference: Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference: Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference: Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin: Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference: Cabrini
Commonwealth Conference: Messiah
Commonwealth Coast Conference: Endicott
Empire 8: St. John Fisher
Freedom Conference: Eastern
Great Northeast Athletic Conference: Rhode Island College
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference: Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Dubuque
Liberty League: Rochester (N.Y.)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Hope
Midwest Conference: Monmouth (Ill.)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Saint John’s (Minn.)
New England Collegiate Conference: Elms
New England Small College Athletic Conference: Middlebury
North Atlantic Conference: Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference: Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference: Rutgers-Camden
Northern Athletics Conference: Edgewood
Northwest Conference: Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic Conference: Baldwin Wallace
Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Guilford
Presidents’ Athletic Conference: Saint Vincent
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Claremont-M-S
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference: Bethany Lutheran
USA South Athletic Conference: LaGrange

Pool B Berths (3):

Pool C Berths (7):
Concordia (Texas)
La Verne
Southwestern (Texas)

Brian Burt, Hampden-Sydney
Rory Doll, Nebraska Wesleyan
Alex Kapraun, St. Thomas (Minn.)
Mikey McGinn, Cal Lutheran
Rick O’Connell, Hampden-Sydney

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!