Maryland captures its 11th NCAA women’s lacrosse championship


TOWSON, Md. — Maryland captured its 11th NCAA women’s lacrosse championship Sunday night, getting five goals from Beth Glaros in a 15-12 victory against Syracuse.

Kristen Lamon, Taylor Cummings and Brooke Griffin had three goals apiece for the top-seeded Terrapins (23-1), whose last championship was won on this same field in 2010.

In this one, Maryland let a five-goal lead dwindle to 9-7 early in the second half before using four-goal burst to pull away.

Syracuse (21-3) lost in the title game for the second time in three years and must wait until next season to resume pursuit of its first national championship.

Maryland 15, Syracuse 12: RecapStats Highlights
Moore: Lacrosse champ plays to favorite
Moore: Syracuse’s Gait hopes to lead Orange to title
Maryland 9, N’western 6 Recap StatsHighlights
Syracuse 16, Virginia 8: Recap StatsHighlights
Sights and sounds at Northwestern practice
Moore: Four tradition-rich teams make up semis
Moore: 10 things to watch in Baltimore
Brackets: InteractivePrintable

The game drew a crowd of 10,311, a record for the NCAA women’s championship game. The combined attendance for the final and semifinals was 18,567, which was also a record.

Top-seeded Maryland utilized a balanced attack and a solid ground ball advantage to defeat No. 5 seed Northwestern 9-6 Friday in the semifinals of the 2014 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship in front of 8,256 fans at Johnny Unitas Stadium.