Ward wins PNGA Men’s Mid-Amateur in a Playoff


Image credit: Pacific Northwest Golf Association

Sept. 14th, 2014 – Klamath Falls, Oregon (VIGolf.ca) – Jeff Ward of Bend, Ore. birdied the third playoff hole to win the 30th Pacific Northwest Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship, held this week at Running Y Ranch Resort in Klamath Falls, Ore. The three-day championship consisted of 54 holes of stroke play, and was conducted by the Pacific Northwest Golf Association (PNGA).

Ward, playing in the final group of the day, had bogeyed the long par-4 18th hole to fall into a tie with Charlie Rice, also of Bend, and Brandon Lorain of Woodburn, Ore.After routine pars on the first playoff hole, Rice and Lorain both laid up with their second shots on the par-5 second playoff hole, while Ward went for the green, ending up on the fringe. He left his eagle try just inches from the hole for a tap-in birdie. Lorain also birdied, while Rice’s two-putt par forced his exit.

On the third playoff hole, with the tees moved up to make it a drivable par-4, Ward hit 4-iron off the tee which left him 84 yards from the green, and Lorain hit driver into the rough on the right side of the green. Ward hit his wedge to four feet, and Lorain chipped to within eight feet. From there, Lorain lipped out his birdie effort, and Ward drained his putt for the win.

“I love golf,” said Ward afterward. “I love amateur golf. I play a lot of it. I’ve been in final groups (in tournaments) four or five times this year and haven’t converted. It’s a learning process, and today I was super comfortable out there, even during the playoff, and I got it done this time. I’m really excited.”

Watch Ward’s post-round interview here.

Past champion Alex Stamey (2001) of Mill Creek, Wash. bogeyed the 18th hole today to miss the playoff by one shot. For complete final results, please visit www.thepnga.org.

The PNGA Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship is one of 16 major, regional, amateur championships for men, women, juniors, and seniors conducted annually by the PNGA throughout the Northwest.

30th Pacific Northwest Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship

(*won playoff)

*Jeff Ward                             70-70-74–214

Brandon Lorain                     74-70-70–214

Charlie Rice                           71-71-72–214

Alex Stamey                          73-68-74–215

John Baranco                        70-72-74–216

Bjorn Bjorke                          69-72-76–217

Bill Winter                             77-67-74–218

Michael Kloenne                  70-74-74–218

Sean Packer                          75-71-72–218

Stephen Hartnett                 73-71-76–220

Maurisio Rayas                     75-71-75–221

Stephen Lee                          74-70-78–222

Tyler Daniels                         69-71-82–222

Luke Wilson                          73-73-77–223

Jason Wood                          79-73-71–223

Andrew Robb                       74-78-71–223

Tim Tucker                            76-74-74–224

Jim Dunlap                            75-74-76–225

Paul Houvener                     73-77-76–226

Deryk Rachinski                    80-75-71–226

Darren Kuhn                         73-75-79–227

David Anderson                    70-79-79–228

Greg Morton                         73-73-82–228

Keith Crimp                           72-79-78–229

Craig Larson                          80-74-77–231

Ben Janes                               75-77-79–231

Dean Park                              74-82-75–231

Jerry Moore                          76-77-78–231

John Latousek                      79-78-75–232

Chris Indall                            72-86-77–235

Michael Dolder                    80-80-78–238

Tim Cecil                               83-78-77–238

Curtis Rystadt                      78-78-84–240

Bruce Walker                       83-79-78–240

Karl Smith                           79-78-84–241

Drew Pairamore                75-83-84–242

Jason Vance                       79-87-80–246

Michael Coelho                 81-85-83–249

Dain Pape                           84-83-86–253

Phil Erickson                      90-80-86–256

Scott MacPherson            83-86-89–258

Tom Kerr                            86-93-80–259

Todd O’Neill                      89-88-86–263

Andrew Ferranti               82-91-91–264

Patrick DuGard                 91-81-94–266

Sean Edwards                   93-87-90–270

Brian Kim                           91-89-WD–WD

Greg Spencer                    76-95-WD–WD