2014 BC Football Hall of Fame Inductees

Jordan Gagner

Vancouver, BC – The UBC Thunderbirds are well represented among the list of inductees for BC Football Hall of Fame, Class of 2014. In its fourth year of honouring this province’s outstanding players, coaches, builders, and contributors, 14 individuals and two teams make up this year’s list of inductees.

Among the group are former UBC standout players Laurent DesLauriers, Jordan Gagner, Herb Capozzi, David Sidoo, longtime football pioneer Dr. Gordon Shrum, former UBC assistant coach James ‘Quick’ Parker, and the 1924 UBC Thunderbirds football team.

DesLauriers was a four-year starter for the Thunderbirds from 1980-83, playing defensive back, receiver, and returner. He is a former CIAU All-Canadian and helped lead the Thunderbirds to their first ever Vanier Cup Championship in 1982. Following his university career, DesLauriers played five years in the CFL, four with Edmonton and one with Toronto. He was a CFL All-Canadian in his rookie season in 1984 and won a Grey Cup Championship in 1987 with the Eskimos. His career was cut short due to knee injuries. DesLauriers returned to UBC in the 90’s as an assistant coach under both Frank Smith and the late Casey Smith. He was named the head coach of Thunderbirds in 2002 coaching UBC for four seasons. DesLauriers is a member of the UBC Sports Hall of Fame.

Gagner was the first Thunderbirds player to win the Hec Crighton Award as Canadian University Football’s Most Outstanding Player in 1987. A quarterback, he spent fives seasons at UBC (1983-87) leading the Thunderbirds to back-to-back appearances in the Vanier Cup in 1986 and 1987 and winning the Championship in 1986. He stills holds the UBC Thunderbirds record for career passing yards with 10,187 yards.

A member of the UBC Sports Hall of Fame Capozzi was an all-star in both football and basketball at UBC from 1944-48. In fact, he was offered a contract by the New York Giants in 1947, but turned it down. He went on to play in the CFL with the Calgary Stampeders and Montreal Alouettes. At the age of 31 he was named the General Manager of the BC Lions, a position he held for 10 seasons. He went on to become a provincial MLA before helping to start up the Vancouver Whitecaps.

Sidoo will be honoured with the CFL Bob Ackles Award. A standout player during his five years at UBC (1978-1982), Sidoo was a three-time Canada West All-Star defensive back/returner and an CIAU All-Canadian in his final season in 1982. That same year he captained the Thunderbirds to the program’s first ever Vanier Cup Championship. He would go to play six seasons in the CFL, five with Saskatchewan and one with BC. Since then Sidoo has spent a good portion of his time and money giving back to the sport at all levels. A catalyst for bringing together community, Sidoo has been a huge supporter of the UBC Thunderbirds football program and as a result the field at Thunderbird Stadium is named in his honour. He is also a member of the UBC Sports Hall of Fame.

A professor and the head of the UBC Physics Department from 1925-1961, Shrum seems like the most unlikely of candidates, but he is considered a pioneer in UBC athletics and football in this province. Behind the scenes at UBC he was a key decision maker, initiator, and developer. Following his retirement from UBC in 1961, he went on to become the first chancellor and chairman of the board of SFU. The annual football game between UBC and SFU would be named in his honour. He is a member of the UBC Sports Hall of Fame. 

Parker is arguably one of the best defensive ends to ever play in the CFL. He was a mainstay on the BC Lions defensive line throughout the 1980’s helping the Lions to a Grey Cup Championship in 1985. He is a member of the Canadian Football Hall of Fame. He joined the UBC Thunderbirds football coaching staff as an assistant coach under the late Casey Smith in the mid 90’s, sharing a wealth of knowledge with young, up and coming players.

The 1924 UBC Thunderbirds football team is the first football team in the province’s history. This year marks the 90th anniversary of UBC football. That year, the Thunderbirds finished 3-2 under the guidance of head coach William Rose.

The BC Football Hall of Fame is the brain child of the late Bob Ackles. All the inductees will be honoured October 11th at the BC Lions home game versus Ottawa.

2014 BC Football Hall of Fame Inductees

Laurent DesLauriers
Jordan Gagner
James Parker
Glen Jackson
Jim Mills
Bret Anderson

Creighton O’Malley
Ed Murray
Rob Docherty

Herb Capozzi

Tom Larscheid
Ted Reynolds

1924 UBC Thunderbirds
1994 BC Lions

Special Award
Dr. Gordon Shrum

CFL Bob Ackles Award
David Sidoo

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!