Head Coach Kieran Crowley has announced his starting roster

rugby can 1

IRB Americas Rugby Championship wraps up on Sunday with double-header at Westhills Stadium

(ISN) – LANGFORD, BC – Canada Head Coach Kieran Crowley has announced his starting roster for Sunday’s finale of the 2014 IRB Americas Rugby Championship against Argentina Jaguars at Westhills Stadium in Langford, BC.

Canada ‘A’ opened the tournament with a 20-6 victory over Uruguay, before falling to USA Selects 16 – 3 on day two this past Wednesday while Argentina sit 2-0 so far in the campaign, having defeated the Americans 41-14 and Uruguay 31-9.

Captain Kyle Gilmour will lead the side from the blindside flanker position, while stalwarts Doug Wooldridge, Ray Barkwill and Nanyak Dala feature in the forward pack.

Sunday’s Canada ‘A’ side will include winger Sean Duke who recently took part in the Gold Coast Sevens in Australia, along with outside-centre Jordan Wilson-Ross.

Other changes to the starting XV include Calgary’s James Smith at loosehead prop and in the backs with Gord McRorie moving to scrum half, Pat Parfrey to flyhalf and Nick Blevins slotting in at winger.

In last year’s finale the home side put forth their best game of the tournament against Argentina Jaguars on the final day, but were narrowly defeated 24-13.

Sunday’s fixture against their South American rivals is the final chance to impress coach Crowley for many players with the goal of joining Canada’s Senior Men’s Team on their annual November tour to Europe.

Canada will face an RFU Championship XV side in Worcester on November 2, Namibia in Colwyn Bay, Wales on November 7, Samoa in Vannes, France on the 14th and finally against Romania in Bucharest on the 22nd.

Kick off is set for 7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT and you can watch live at www.rugbycanada.tv

Canada’s Starting Team to face Argentina:

1 – James Smith, (Shoalhaven RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
2 – Ray Barkwill, (Niagara Wasps RFC/Ontario Blues) Niagara Falls, ON
3 – Doug Wooldridge, (Lindsay RFC/Ontario Blues) Lindsay, ON
4 – Aaron Flagg, (Abbotsford RFC/BC Bears) Abbotsford, BC
5 – Evan Olmstead, (Parametta Two Blues/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
6 – Kyle Gilmour, Captain (St. Albert RFC/Prairie Wolf Pack) St. Albert, AB
7 – Nanyak Dala (Castaway Wanderers/Prairie Wolf Pack) Regina, SK
8 – Seb Pearson, (London St. George’s/Ontario Blues) London, ON
9 – Gordon McRorie, (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
10 – Patrick Parfrey, (Swilers RFC/Atlantic Rock) St. Johns, NL
11 – Nick Blevins, (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
12 – Derek Daypuck, (London St. George’s/Ontario Blues) London, ON
13 – Jordan Wilson-Ross, (James Bay AA/Ontario Blues) Alliston, ON
14 – Sean Duke, (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC
15 – Sean Ferguson, (UBC Thunderbirds/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC
16 – Ryan Hamilton, (Capilano RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC
17 – Pete Houlihan, (Edmonton Druids/Prairie Wolf Pack) Edmonton, AB
18 – Tom Dolezel, (London St. George’s/Ontario Blues) London, ON
19 – Kyle Baillie, (Edmonton Druids/Atlantic Rock) Charlottetown, PEI
20 – Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake RFC/BC Bears) Vancouver, BC
21 – Jamie Mackenzie, (UVIC Vikes/Ontario Blues) Oakville, ON
22 – Pat Kay, (UVIC Vikes/BC Bears) Duncan, BC
23 – Andrew Coe, (Markham Irish/Ontario Blues) Markham, ON

Canada Staff:

Head Coach: Kieran Crowley
Assistant Coach: Chris Silverthorn
Assistant Coach: Mike Shelley
Assistant Coach: Graeme Moffatt
Manager: Mark Winokur
Strength and Conditioning Coach: Andy Evans
Therapist: Chris May
Athletic Therapist: Jessica Smith