2014 Can West field hockey championship

Vancouver, BC – For the 25th time in the program’s history, the UBC Thunderbirds women’s field hockey team was crowned 2014 Canada West Champions. The Thunderbirds defeated the University of Calgary 4-0 Sunday afternoon at Wright Field. With the victory UBC finished the regular season with a record of 5-1-2, identical to the Victoria Vikes, however, the Thunderbirds earn the Canada West banner on goal differential. UBC finished the regular season +18 (25 goals for and 7 goals against), while Victoria was +14 (20 goals for and 6 goals against).

Both UBC and Victoria will represent the Canada West at the CIS National Championship Tournament October 30-November 2 in Toronto.

The Thunderbirds opened the scoring in the 26th minute off a penalty corner, Hannah Haughn tipped home a Rachel Donohoe shot to give UBC a 1-0 lead. That is how things remained through the first 35 minutes of play.

In the second half, UBC added to their lead, again off a penalty corner. This time Haughn jumped on a rebound and roofed it for her second goal of the game giving the Thunderbirds a 2-0 lead.

Gabby Jayme got in on the act in the 55th minute, tipping a Donohoe shot off a penalty corner to give the home side a 3-0 lead.

Haughn rounded out the scoring in the 65th minute with her third goal of the game and league leading 11th of the season. She scored hat tricks in both Saturday and Sunday’s game versus Calgary. 4-0 was the final.

Lauren Logush earned the shutout in net, finishing the regular season with a record of 4-1-2, allowing just seven goals all year.

UBC has now won 11 of the past 12 Canada West Championships. This is the first for rookie head coach Robin D’Abreo.

The Thunderbirds will now have a week off in preparation for the 2014 CIS Championship Tournament beginning October 30th in Toronto. UBC are the three-time defending championship and will be in search of their 16th McCrae Cup overall.