Crowe-Hutchon, Galbraith honoured for Vikes after bronze-medal win

Laura Crowe Hutchon

(ISN) – Following an exciting 27-16 Canada West bronze-medal win, the Univeristy of Victoria Vikes women’s rugby team had two players named to the conference all-star list. Fifth-year flanker Laura Crowe-Hutchon and third-year fullback Kara Galbraith were the only two Victoria players to crack the Canada West All-Star team.

Conference champions Alberta picked up the Most Valuable Player award in Alanna Fittes, while Pandas coach Matt Parrish was given the nod for Coach of the Year. Calgary’s Elysa Sandra was named Canada West Rookie of the Year.

Following is a list of the 2014 Canada West Rugby All-Stars (repeat winners in bold).

Prop: DaLeaka Menin, Calgary
Prop: Carolyn McEwen, UBC
Hooker: Emily Tuttosi, Calgary
Lock: Elizabeth Steele, Alberta
Lock: Jocelyn Berteit, Calgary
Back Row: Natasha Loucks, Calgary
Back Row: Gabrielle Hindley, UBC
Back Row: Laura Crowe-Hutchon, Victoria
Scrum Half: Meghan Hamm, UBC
Fly Half: Rebecca Fairbairn, Alberta
Center: Jules Goss, Alberta
Center: Nicole Ronsky, Lethbridge
Back Three: Alanna Fittes, Alberta
Back Three: Elysa Sandron, Calgary
Back Three: Kara Galbraith, Victoria

Complete list of 2014 Canada West Rugby Awards winners:
Most Valuable Player: Alanna Fittes, Alberta
Rookie of the Year: Elysa Sandron, Calgary
Coach of the Year: Matt Parrish, Alberta