BC Lacrosse Association Names Merit Award Winners

BC Lacrosse Association Logo

BC Lacrosse Association Names Merit Award Winners

(ISN) – The British Columbia Lacrosse Association (BCLA) held their Annual General Meeting October 17-19, 2014 in

Whistler, BC. Every year this event brings the lacrosse community together for meetings, a lacrosse trade fair and the

annual merit awards banquet. Close to 500 participants took part in the weekend events.

The BC Lacrosse Association annually presents the BCLA Merit Awards to the many lacrosse volunteers who

commit their free time to the sport of lacrosse. Sixteen Merit Awards were handed out during the 2014 Merit Awards

Banquet held Saturday October 18th at the Whistler Conference Centre.

The 2014 BCLA Merit Award recipients were as follows:

Ted Fridge Family Spirit Award – The Corbett Family (Harold, Debbie, Rick, David & Brian), Victoria

Irvine-Calder-Nevard Merit Award – Outstanding service through lacrosse sponsorship

Randy Clough (X-Treme Sports Gear), Tri-Cities

Hugh Gifford Merit Award (Box & Field Lacrosse) – Manager of the Year

Box Lacrosse – Barb Beale (New Westminster Minor Box Lacrosse & Team BC-Bantam)

Tom Gordon Plaque – BCLA’s Mr. or Ms. Lacrosse

Jamie Stewart, New Westminster Minor Lacrosse Association

Ruth Seward Merit Award (Box & Field Lacrosse) – Outstanding involvement by and individual

Michael O’Connor, Vancouver Minor Lacrosse Association

Norm Wright Merit Award – Media contribution to the promotion of lacrosse

Rich Abney (CKPG TV Sports — Prince George)

Jimmy Gunn Merit Awards – Referees of the Year

Senior Referee – Sean Lehman, Vancouver Island

Minor Referee – Cameron Anderson, Saanich

Field Referee – Ed Moffat, Burnaby

Dal Martin Merit Award – Trainer of the Year

Sarah Cahill, West Coast Junior Lacrosse League

John Cavallin Merit Award – Coaches of the Year

Senior Coach – Lorne Winship, Cowichan Junior B/Intermediate B

Field Coach – Jason Bishop, New Westminster

Bill McBain Minor Box Coaching Merit Award

Minor Coach – Derek Arthur, Juan de Fuca Minor Lacrosse Association

Art Daoust Merit Award (Box & Field Lacrosse) – Fostering and promoting the game, improving the image and

stature of lacrosse in BC

Box Lacrosse – Terry Rolfe, Richmond Minor Lacrosse Association

Leon Hall Merit Award – Association of the Year

Box Lacrosse – Burnaby Minor Lacrosse Association

Field Lacrosse – Langley Field Lacrosse Association

The BCLA Presidents Award promotes and celebrates the spirit of volunteerism by annually giving BCLA

organizations an opportunity to acknowledge and thank an individual who has demonstrated outstanding dedication

and commitment to lacrosse within their organizations.

The 2014 BC Lacrosse Association Presidents Award winners are as follows:

Roxane Seaton, North Okanagan Junior B League

Dan Linnen, Pacific Northwest Junior B League

Lisa Scott, Central Interior Intermediate B League

Gordon Foulds, Prince George Senior C League

Kevin McLennan, Victoria Senior C League

Gary McBride, BC Junior A League

Dan Van Os, Thompson Okanagan Minor Lacrosse Comm.

Rusty Wills, Burnaby Minor Lacrosse Association

Wonda Warren, Chilliwack Minor Lacrosse

Lisa Edgar, Comox Valley Minor Lacrosse

Peter Parke, Comox Valley Minor Lacrosse

Deanna Thomson, Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse

Sue Lidstone, Cowichan Valley Minor Lacrosse

Ylva (Jill) Samuelson, Cranbrook Minor Lacrosse

Craig Merritt, Delta Field Lacrosse

Scott Liebich, Delta Minor Lacrosse

Jenal Coakley, Juan de Fuca Minor Lacrosse

Justin Bosher, Kamloops Minor Lacrosse

Shelley Torres, Kelowna Minor Lacrosse

Bill Mosdell, Langley Field Lacrosse

Cindy Tarling, Langley Minor Lacrosse

Nicole Kokoska, Mission Minor Lacrosse

Steve Bishop, Nanaimo Minor Lacrosse

Ross Guthrie, New Westminster Field Lacrosse

Aaron Wildgrove, New Westminster Minor Lacrosse

Rene Robichaud, North Delta Minor Lacrosse

Marnie Evans, North Island Field Lacrosse

Kevin Beauregard, North Okanagan Field Lacrosse

Chris Collard, North Okanagan Minor Lacrosse

Roger Paterson, North Shore Minor Lacrosse

Tyson Leies, Pacific Rim Field Lacrosse

Louise Whitelaw, Peninsula Minor Lacrosse

Tammy Brown, Prince George Minor Lacrosse

Twila Gilbert, Pt. Coquitlam Minor Lacrosse

Lance Schindel, Pt. Moody Minor Lacrosse

Ceayon Johnston, Richmond Lacrosse

Wes Eaton, Ridge Meadows Minor Lacrosse

Chris Sheridan, Saanich Minor Lacrosse

Randy Ellis, Semiahmoo Minor Lacrosse

Ted Yadernuk, Shuswap Minor Lacrosse

Karen Nielsen, Sunshine Coast Minor Lacrosse

Shawn Gregorson, Surrey Field Lacrosse

John McKay, Surrey Minor Lacrosse

Rick Mainman, Vancouver Field Lacrosse

Regina Villanueva, Vancouver Minor Lacrosse