NAIT to Host the 2014 ACAC Women’s Soccer Championships


ISN – (Edmonton, AB) – The NAIT Ooks women’s soccer team hosts the Alberta Colleges

Athletic Conference (ACAC) championships Oct. 24-26.

The ACAC’s top three teams from the North Division and top three teams from the South Division will compete to determine this year’s top squad.

The Ooks enter the tournament ranked No. 1 in the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA)

and as top seed in the ACAC North Division and get a bye to the semi-finals.

“NAIT Athletics welcomes the opportunity to host the 2014 ACAC Women’s Soccer Championships and

it is our goal to make this a memorable event for all those attending,” said Gregg Meropoulis, NAIT’s

athletics manager and tournament chair. “NAIT is proud of its rich tradition of excellence in women’s

soccer and has successfully hosted a number of ACAC and CCAA championships in the past. We are

looking forward to an outstanding weekend of competition.”

The championships take place at Jasper Place Bowl in Johnny Bright Sports Park located at 163 Street

and 92 Avenue. Quarter-finals take place Friday, semi-finals Saturday, and the ACAC gold and bronze

medal games are Sunday. Games are as follows:

Friday, Oct. 24

12 p.m. – Lethbridge College Kodiaks vs. Concordia University Thunder

2 p.m. – Grande Prairie Regional College Wolves vs. Red Deer College Queens

Saturday, Oct. 25

12 p.m. – Winner Game 1 vs. Medicine Hat College Rattlers

2 p.m. – Winner Game 2 vs NAIT Ooks

Sunday, Oct. 26

12 p.m. – Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4

2 p.m. – Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4

Sunday’s finalists will advance to represent Alberta at the CCAA National Championships at Medicine

Hat College Nov. 5-8.

“It’s always such an honour to host conference championships at NAIT,” said Linda Henderson, NAIT’s

director of Athletics & Recreation. “In particular, the women’s soccer programs in this province are some

of the best in Canada. To be able to showcase this in Edmonton is such a thrill. Good luck to all of the

teams representing their schools.”